Daily Archives: January 3, 2011

Resolutions vs. Habits

A RESOLUTION is a resolve or determination to make a firm resolution to do something.
A HABIT is an acquired behavior pattern regularly followed until it has become almost involuntary.
I admit that I have made the occasional New Years Resolution only to be forgotten within days.  Years ago I decided to forgo the guilt and feelings of failure by not making resolutions.  This decision proved to be just as disappointing as making a resolution and not following through.  So,   I decided that if nothing else I would resolve to become a better person every year.   This particular “resolution” has been my stand by for several years.     This has been an easy one to accomplish.  To be better means to not be as bad.  All that I have to do is be “nicer” this year than I was last year.  Or, not to be mean or ugly to one person who more than likely deserved an earful for cutting me off on the freeway, or hogging the isle in Wal-Mart, or even borrowing something and not returning it. 
 
This year, after reading a new blog I stumbled upon, I decided to try something new.  Instead of resolving to do something that requires major life changes and probably comes with an expensive price tag and a big fat I told you so at the end when it didn’t happen.  How about developing new habits.  Healthy Habits!  I don’t know about you but this past year I developed new habits without so much as a second thought.  Most of which are not bad for my health but they aren’t especially good either. 
 
How long does it take to develop a new habit?  The experts say it takes 21 days to develop a habit.  Also, the goal should be to develop only good habits or replace bad habits with good habits.  I have chosen to develop a new habit of drinking more water.  I will achieve this by always having a glass of water with me when I am on the computer, which is most of the day.
If in fact I fail to follow through with this plan it will get chalked up to another failed New Years Resolution.  But if I succeed I will have developed a new healthy habit.  Just so you know I am not off to a very good start. 

1 Comment

Filed under Life..such as it is, plain and simple