Daily Archives: February 17, 2011

learn a new language in 15 minutes or less…

Do you know that everyone has a love language specific to them? 

There are 5 love languages and we all identify primarily with one of the 5: words of affirmation, quality time, receiving gifts, acts of service and/or physical touch. Whats your love language?

I was reminded of my love language earlier this week when Emily over at My Pajama Days, penned an open letter of support and encouragement, a love letter,  on her blog.  She wrote to her writer friends and fellow bloggers and readers.  She did not mention anyone by name but when I read it I felt as though she were writing directly to me.  She is a gifted writer.  She writes from her heart and seems to rarely hold back. I wish I could write would write were brave enough to write like Emily. 

Since reading Emily’s post I have thought about the feeling I got from the words in her letter.  I was touched and encouraged. Why?  Because she was speaking my language.  

My love language is … words of affirmation.  If you pat me on the back, give me a thumbs up or even just click the like button on my  blog you are speaking my language. 

Then I had one of those lightbulb moments!  Now I understand why I check my blog stats several times a day.   In my mind, the numbers equate to likeability which is as close to words of affirmation as you may get on a blog.  I mostly have blog stalkers, you know individuals who pop in and out without so much as a peep.    I don’t know if the individuals who click on my blog posts actually read them or not.  But they were here and in my world it means they “liked”  me my post on some level.  I know that seems silly, really it does, but I can’t help how it makes me feel.  I will never forget the first time someone clicked the like button on one of my posts…lets just say it was a stellar moment.   Also when I had my first comment from a total stranger that was like winning the lottery for me.   

Recently I joined the postaweek2011 challenge and began meeting up with other like-minded bloggers.  Little by little my community of friendly bloggers has grown.  I am getting an almost daily dose of affirmation from the likes of Piglet in Portugal, Papa Joe, Mirth and MotivationSpirit Lights the Way  and Running Garlic!  I know this has had a positive impact on me because I can see it in the mirror.  My glow is back! 

My blogging buddies are my support system.  I hope that my clicking the like button on their blogs and dropping a comment here and there is meeting their love language need.  It’s why we blog on WordPress.  We are all looking for community support.   Otherwise we would be writing  in our diaries and keeping our thoughts and feelings under lock and key.

If you do not know someones love language or you use the wrong love language you may as well be speaking a foreign language to them.  You owe it to yourself and to those whom you love to take a few minutes and learn their love language.  Your relationships will be better for it…it will be the best pre-marital advice you  get, it could save a relationship that is on the brink of disaster.  For heavens sake you could figure out how to talk to your teenager and have them talk back  respond to you.  You might even be able to win over that over bearing person in your life by learning a new language, their language of love. 

I am wondering how you interpret your stats?  Do they equate to your love language?

I have recently subscribed to the following blogs;

Boberi

Skinny and Fit

Jon and Phyliss

16 Comments

Filed under postaweek2011