Daily Archives: March 25, 2011

time to celebrate…a true sense of accomplishment

Yippee!  Woo hoo!  Yes!  It’s finally here!  It is my one year blogoversary!

There were moments when I thought this day would never come.

I began blogging a year ago more out of curiosity than anything else.  Then I ended up  using my blog to chronicle the experience of moving from our family home of 12 years, into a 26′ travel trailer while our dream home was being built.   I did it, I blogged my way through. 

Although I hoped my friends and family would read and follow along on our journey, I secretly hoped that a few strangers would find, read and be encouraged through my blog. 

What actually happened was that more strangers than friends and family read and follow along.  Instead of being the one to inspire and encourage, I am the one who is inspired and encouraged by the friends I have made and the blogs I follow. 

I have never considered myself a writer.  But I do love banging away at the keys and there is such a sense of accomplishment as I pour out my thoughts, add a few pictures to help tell the story, spellcheck it, re-write a line or two and hit the publish button.

There were days, weeks and months when there were very few if any comments.  But I kept plugging away.   I kept searching for other bloggers who were looking for cyber-friendships.  I knew I wasn’t the only one out there that was in need of inspiration and encouragement.  I knew YOU were out there.

I am looking forward to another year of blogging, new friendships and  experiencing life to the utmost, eagerly reaching out without fear for newer richer experiences. 

11 Comments

Filed under encouragment, Life..such as it is, postaweek2011, Thoughts on Blogging

show and tell…Hef’s got nothing on these bunnies

The American Rabbit Breeders’ Association and the Texas Rabbit Breeders’ Association sanction the rabbit shows at the Houston Livestock Show™. Several breeds of rabbits compete, including Himalayan, Holland Lop, Jersey Wooly, Mini Lop, Netherland Dwarf, Polish, Rex, Florida Whites, Californian, Champagne, English Lop, French Lop, New Zealand, Palomino, and Satin. Rabbits are judged in Best of Breed, Best of Opposite Sex of Breed, Best in Show and Best of the Best of Opposites of Sex.

 The bunny show at the rodeo is one of my favorite exhibits. 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 Comments

Filed under Life in Texas, postaweek2011, Snapshots of Life