Daily Archives: March 28, 2011

main street coffee shop…warm and friendly

 Life is full of unexpected discoveries!  All that is required is a sense of adventure and a willingness to go against the grain.  Some of my favorite places have been discovered while traveling off the beaten path. 

This little gem was discovered on a crisp Saturday morning while my husband and I were out searching for americana junk.  I asked one of the locals where we could grab a cup of coffee.  She didn’t hesitate for a moment, “Main Street”. 

It turned out to be the local hot spot.  The manager was sitting at the counter with a couple of regulars working on the crossword puzzle that was in the morning’s paper.  The locals drifted in ordering their usual without even looking at the menu board.  The comfy couch and chairs began to fill up. 

  There was a very warm friendly feeling about the place.  If I were going to own a coffee shop I would want it to feel very much like the Main Street Coffee Bar.

This was one of those unexpected discoveries off the beaten path.

Do you have a favorite place off the beaten path?  Share it!

 

 

3 Comments

Filed under All Things Foodie, Life in Texas, My Local Recommendations, postaweek2011

suncreek garden chronicles…the man with the plan

My Husband always has a plan.  He IS a project driven individual.  He was recently in the middle of a full-blown project building a very nice chicken coop for his assorted brood of chickens as he was planning and organizing our new spring garden.  If anyone has ever thought that men can not multitask they haven’t met my husband.  

This is the first installment of suncreek garden chronicles.  Each week I will post a garden update.  I will be doing a little back logging as this project has been under way for several weeks.  I will have a daily post until my I have caught up with the garden project. 

In the begining…there was a plot of land.

Then there was a delivery of two loads of garden soil.

to be continued…

Leave a link to your garden story in the comment section and I will include it in the next installment of suncreek garden chronicles.

enJOY!

5 Comments

Filed under gardening and other green things