Daily Archives: April 12, 2011

Teaser Tuesdays…04.12.11

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should be Reading.  Anyone can play along!  Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) teaser sentences from somewhere on that page
  • Be careful not to include spoilers (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

Bad Girls of the Bible   -              By: Liz Curtis Higgs      Here is my teaser:  “So your name is-“
“Devin.”  His voice was low and smooth, with no remnant of a hiss.  “t’s a Gaelic name, from the old country.  It means serp-ah, that is, servant.”  He shrugged.  “Or poet.   Take your pick.”

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

J is for junktiques…(a-z challenge)

One man’s Junk is…

another womans Junktiques!!!

Antiques, Junk, Americana… Junktiques!  I enjoy browsing through re-sale shops, estate sales and old barns.  There are treasures waiting to be salvaged and re-purposed.  As my adoring husband likes to tell everyone, I have an eye for this stuff.  I enjoy finding old discarded and forgotten items and incorporating the old with the new.  I call it elegant americana.   It is my own eclectic mix of design.  A collection of old pottery displayed in  a contemporary cabinet highlights both without one over powering the other.  It is a delicate balancing act, one that takes a little time and a willingness to look past the dents and the dust and envision what once was could be again. 

I love this little green chair…I think I will enjoy it just the way it is for a little while…I don’t think I can envision it any color but green.  Finding the “right” green will be half the fun!

7 Comments

Filed under Blogging Challenges, Blogging from A-Z April Blogging Challenge, postaweek2011, Snapshots of Life