Celebrating my birth year…1961

flicker photo

It was 1961…

  • President Kennedy creates the Peace Corps
  • The Russian cosmonaut Yuri Gagarin is the first man to travel in to space
  • Alan Shepherd blasts into space for a 20 minute ride…the space race was on!
  • Coca-Cola introduces Sprite to compete with 7-Up
  • Ray Kroc buys out the McDonald brothers
  • Johnson and Johnson introduce Tylenol
  • The Yo-Yo becomes the newest craze
  • Ernest Hemingway commits suicide
  • West Side Story wins for Best Picture

Celebrity Birthdays for June 9;

  • Natalie Portman
  • Johnny Depp
  • Michael J Fox
  • Jon Lord
  • Les Paul
  • Jackie Wilson
  • Cole Porter

Well today was the Big day!  It came and went without too much attention, a lot like this post.  I received a card in the mail, numerous Facebook well wishes and a few text messages and a spattering of phone calls.  My mother recounted the ordeal of my birth. My Dad told me the same story he tells me every year.  My husband showered me with wonderful gifts and the sweetest card, the kind that tugs at your heart-strings.  This year I managed not to cry.  He also found the perfect humorous birthday card.

9 Comments

Filed under Life..such as it is, postaweek2011

9 responses to “Celebrating my birth year…1961

  1. Good Morning, my sweet friend! I already said Happy Birthday but wanted you to know I have a birthday this month also. I never cry any more but I will be 64 now that is something to cary about, not really I feel younger every day because it is all in your mind. Inside our spirit and soul we never age, we are still a child to our dad in heaven. I am glad you enjoyed your Birthday and many more to come! Much Love Sheila

  2. Your the same age as my baby sis . . . which means that I’m older than you!

    Happy Birthday to you, Jeanne
    The Big 5-0 is sandwiched between
    Our E.T.A. and our E.T.D.
    Live, Love, Laugh . . . and then Just Be!

  3. Jo Ann

    Well a late HAPPY BIRTHDAY! 1961 is the year we married – which means that on July 28th, we’ll celebrate 50 years of marriage!

  4. Pingback: Celebrating my birth year…1961 | jeanne’s blog « Estherlou's Blog

  5. Happy birthday! ( a belated one at that) how cool that you share the same bday as Michael J. Fox. :)
    nutschell
    http://www.thewritingnut.com

  6. Happy Belated 50th! What an exciting milestone! Cheers! Love your husband’s card!

  7. You and Johnny Depp! Now I know you’re a young ‘un…happiness always…but especially in your 50th year!

    wait ’till you’re in your 60s…it only gets better…hugs!!! :)

    • Thanks for stopping by. Between the birthday and the new eating regime ( I refuse to call it a diet) I have been a litle out of sync. I am hoping to get back in the grove, or maybe this is my new groove for this season. Have a JOYful week.

Leave a Reply

