City Wide Yard Sale

Needville City Wide Yard Sale

What a great idea!  The city of Needville, Texas hosted a city-wide yard sale this past weekend.  For the chic upcycle-minded urbanite or someone trying to stretch the family budget browsing one yard sale after another can be a great way to spend a Saturday morning. 

The city-wide yard sale is co-sponsored by the Economic Development Corporation.   The event is hosted twice a year.   The city advertises on their webpage and also places placards in the surrounding cities. 

We started out about 7:30am with a hot cup of coffee and an open mind.  The day was overcast with scattered showers in the forecast.

The entire city was prepared for the onslaught of bargain hunters.  The city had arranged for all entrance and exits through parks and schools to be open in order to accommodate the flow of traffic.  Their were police officers posted in the more congested neighborhoods. The traffic flow was steady. 

I definitely missed out on a couple of really good deals.  But no worries.  I got some really good deals as well.  My husband negotiated a sweet deal on 6 antique windows with the original glass and brass locks in tack.  We will incorporate them into the greenhouse we are planning to build next spring.   

City Wide Yard Sale

I also picked up several items to use as display pieces in my antique resale space.  They need a bit of TLC but that’s part of the fun.  Looking past the obvious and seeing the potential.

My sister-in-law is a weekend yard sale warrior.  She flips houses for a living and finds great deals on plumbing fixtures, lighting and hardware to name just a few.  This weekend she scored cedar boards for $4/ea.  According to her it was the buy of the day. 

My experience with yard sales is you can not start out with high expectations.  Shopping yard sales can be compared to searching for the needle in the haystack.  Most people have either held on to their stuff far too long and now it amounts to junk.  Others are still emotionally attached and therefore have priced their stuff so high they will be keeping it at the end of the day. 

Then there are a few people who really just want to get rid of the stuff they no longer need.  They have priced it to move.  They have organized the items so that they are easily viewed by the shoppers.  They have also decided that they will accept any reasonable offer. 

I typically donate my no longer needed clothing and housewares to someone who has an immediate need such as family that has experienced a house fire or the wrath of a natural disaster.  Otherwise, I will drop off a box of gently used items to GoodWill or Salvation Army.

7 Comments

Filed under Life in Texas, postaweek2011

7 responses to “City Wide Yard Sale

  1. Neighborhood Yard Sales are fun since you can walk from one to another without having to get back into a hot car.

    Glad you found some windows for your greenhouse.

  2. I love anything resale. Starting at age 7 I would spend my summers with my aunt in Chicago. She had a small brick-a-brack store which is another name for a faux antique shop. To fill it we would go “junkin”, as she called it, That amounted to shopping yard and garage sale, the Goodwill and Salvation Army. She has even been know to go dumpster diving or rather she would throw me in and I would check it out. You would think I would have acquired a dislike for that kind of stuff but it had the opposite effect on me. What a lady and I mean that with the greatest respect. Thanks for this post it brought back fond memories.

    • I love junkin…I will embark on a new adventure in November. I am going to rent a space at a long “antique” shop. I have been collecting things that are considered vintage americana, mantiques and extra-ordinary junk. I can hardly wait.

  3. A city-wide garage sale sounds fun! Our area does neighborhood yard sales, but we don’t set up a sale. It’s more hassle than it’s worth, to me. I keep my better shoes/clothes and take them downtown to a women’s shelter and the other stuff goes to a nearby Goodwill.

    The greenhouse sounds like an interesting project. It’s an added bonus when you get supplies at a good price :)

  4. What a great idea! Wonder if our town would be up for something similar? Hmmm… :)

Leave a Reply

