Daily Archives: October 14, 2011

Controlling Emotions…

 
happy face

control your emotions...google image

Do you control your emotions or do they control you? 

When you are in a hurry and someone cuts you off in traffic, do you control your emotions or do they control you?   Do you get frustrated and blow the horn and begin to plan your revenge?  Or, do you think the other person may be in a bigger hurry because they are late picking up the kids from daycare?
 
Do you control your emotions or do they control you,when the internet is running slow and you are trying to finish your blog before your self-imposed cut-off time?  Do you shout at the computer screen and bang on the keys? Or, do you stop and think maybe a new exciting update is about to roll out.
 
 Do you control your emotions or do they control you, when you have spent hours cooking a meal and the entire family has made other plans for dinner?  Do you feel unappreciated and vow to never cook again?  Or, do you stop to think that maybe you should have checked with the family to see who would be around for dinner?
 
When you go out to dinner and the wait staff is less than attentive, do you control your emotions or do they control you ?  Do you find yourself getting exasperated and mentally deducting percentage points from the gratuity?  Or, do you stop and think that maybe they just took an order from a large group with lots of special requests?
 
In years past I was this frustrated, impatient, self-centered, exasperated, horn honking, key board banging, “why is this happening to ME” person.
 
Now I embrace the delays that happen in my life.  I look at the long line at the grocery store as a way to observe my surroundings or chat with someone waiting in line or even flip through a magazine or two.  When I get stuck waiting for a train to pass I call a friend.  When I spill something or drop something I try to see the humor in it.  When someone cuts me off in traffic, I pray for them. 
 
Am I saying that I am always patient and understanding?  Of course not, but I do my best to control my emotions.  And when my emotions get the best of me I try to regain my composure as quickly as I can. 
 
I am of the belief that things happen for a reason.  I believe every situation is an opportunity for growth and personal development.  In one situation I might be the teacher, in the next instant I am the student. 
 
You can’t control what happens to you but you can control your reaction. Put your mind in gear before you put your mouth in motion. Proverbs 29:11

25 Comments

Filed under encouragment, postaweek2011