Monster Mash..they did the monster mash

Halloween 2011

Have you ever done the Monster Mash?  I know a couple of people who really “kill it” when it comes to decorating for Halloween!

My Sister and Bro-n-law are the ultimate Halloweeners.  Can I say that?  Well, I just did.  They begin decorating for their annual Halloween bash in July.  The entire house is transformed into a very spooky place.  I visited them several weeks before the big day and I was…well let’s just say…not going inside her house by myself.  They do an amazing job!  They pour out their creativity into every nook and cranny.  Every year it gets bigger and spookier…they really should charge admission.

You tell me…Creative? Yes!  Scary? Absolutely!!  Worth Admission?  You betcha!!!

Halloween 2011 Zombie Graveyard

This video is not at her house, she just shared it with us several years ago and it is one of my husbands favorite videos to watch around this time of year.  It makes me laugh and then I do the monster mash

23 Comments

Filed under family, Music Moves Me

23 responses to “Monster Mash..they did the monster mash

  1. Haha, until now I have never done the Monster Mash, but I feel it coming up from my toes. Nice post Jeanne. And your sister & hubs are smashing in that picture! Halloween definitely has its attraction to me. Even in Holland! :)
    Are there organized visits abroad to your sister’s house? ;)

  2. I admire people who can “get into” the spirit of a holiday.

  3. Lisa Wields Words

    I like this. I always admire people who go all out with holiday decorating no matter what holiday. You should add your post to the Halloween blog hope over at Critters and Crayons. http://crittersandcrayons.com/2011/10/25/spooky-blog-o-ween-blog-hop/

  4. I know Halloween but I have never experienced such events. I can learn these cultures thanks to your blog. :)

  5. I’ll bet it is a “grave yard smash!” What fun! But I absolutely cannot imagine spending 4 months just decorating! Wow! They should definitely charge admission; also cheeck into offering it as a “field trip” for local youth groups. Perhaps even do some of them as fund-raisers for the groups – i.e. donate a portion or all of the proceeds to a worthy cause.

  6. Our daughters were in a youth performing group that did the Monster Mash every year. Whenever I think of it, I remember those years. I don’t have a video upgrade on wp, but that would be cute to post now that they are 20 and 30 somethings.

  7. God bless em. They must have a lot of fun just going for it… I don’t do Halloween at all; especially now that the kids are grown. I don’t miss it but I can appreciate the effort others put into their costumes and decor… :-)

  8. Loved the video, Jeanne. Those costumes are AWESOME!

    When we lived in areas with young Trick or Treaters, we decorated, turned out lights, etc. Now I just buy candy for US to eat. :D

    • Our area is so sparsley populated the neighborhood arranges for the kids to ride on a hayride and we trunk or treat them at the end of the driveway…I prebagged the candy so I wouldn’t be tempted!

  9. That video is HILARIOUS!!!!!!!! They really go all out! You are NOT joking! Thanks so much for the link-up today!!!

  10. I loved that video. I haven’t done anything like that but there is a haunted house that we visit this time of year. Great fun. Thanks for the festivities.

  11. I remember the “Monster Mash” song…in fact you’ve got me humming it now.

    I’ve never been to a halloween party it sounds great fun!

  12. Pingback: Music Monday ~ Monster Mash « Spirit Lights The Way

  13. Was the song Monster Mash released in August 1962 so it could reach the top of the Billboard charts by Halloween, or was it just a coincidence? http://www.segmation.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

