Daily Archives: January 3, 2012

Trendy…I’m not

Ok, Trendy I’m not… I am not typically up on the newest trends.  I do not run with a crowd that keeps up with fashion week or the up and coming fashion designers.  When it comes to fashion I like what I like because it compliments my shape, I find it comfortable and its affordable.  If it’s all of these things and it’s versatile it could find its way into my closet.  When I buy clothes I try to  remember that the clothes do not make the person the person makes the clothes, or something like that.  Or in this case the boots.

This is a trend I can get into, size 7 please and thank you,  and support for all of the reasons I have listed as well as the fact that it is a product that is Made in America.  The fashion trend that is showing up on college campus’ is LL Bean’s familiar Duck Boot.  The well-known boot is probably benefiting from the retro trend that is sweeping America.

Now I do not want to mislead you into thinking that all of the products LL Bean sells are made in America.  Alas that is not the case.  I wish it weren’t so but currently most of their products are imported.  Maybe this will be the turning point for this iconic American company to change directions.

Defying a trend toward offshore production, the outdoors retailer is adding 125 full-time employees to its Maine-based manufacturing operation to keep pace with orders.

Sales have grown from 150,000 pairs four years ago to about 400,000 this year, said Jack Samson, L.L. Bean senior manager for manufacturing in Brunswick. Next year, demand is projected to reach 500,000.”

Finding a shoe that is made in America is not an easy task.  Here is one that will keep your feet warm and dry and you will be fashionable as well.

Trendy I’m not…

14 Comments

Filed under Made in America