Daily Archives: January 27, 2012

Peaceful Morning

Peaceful Morning…I have spent the morning in a quiet house, enjoying a hot cup of coffee, watching the birds dance through the branches of the oak trees.  The morning air is clean, cool and crisp.  It is a perfectly peaceful morning! 
 
I would be perfectly content to sit under the big oak with a blanket and a book and my little bird friends for the rest of the day.  But there are a few things I must do today!  If I get moving I will be able to stop and enjoy the beautiful day the Lord has Made for me wherever the day takes me. 
 

Peaceful Morning...

Pleopeltis polypodioides…Resurrection Fern is a plant that can be found in hardwood forests of  southeastern United States and southern Africa.  It is an air plant that attaches itself to the shady branches of oak trees.  The Oaks in our yard are host homes to this little gem.  When the air is moist and there has been a bit of rain they are lush and green.  During the dry spells the fern curls up and appears to be dried up and lost forever.  Some sources report that this fern can lose up to 97% of their moisture content and survive. 
 
However, the plant is not lost.  It is just protecting itself by curling up and storing what moisture it has until the next sprinkling of rain from the heavens. 
 
The fern reminds me of myself.  When I hit a dry spell creatively or spiritually, I  curl up and withdraw into myself.  I already know that this is only a temporary situation.  When times like this come calling it is not because I am sad or depressed it is just time to be still.  With a bit of quiet time and reflection I know that I will be restored.  Peaceful mornings spent quietly reflecting on days or events gone by encourage me to look forward to the next peaceful morning…spent in a quiet house, with a cup of hot coffee and my dancing bird friends.
Peaceful Morning…

“Because of the LORD’s great love we are not consumed,
for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning;
great is your faithfulness. I say to myself, “The LORD is my portion;
therefore I will wait for him.”  Lamentations 3:22-24

14 Comments

Filed under encouragment, Nature