Daily Archives: February 5, 2012

Make today special…Live like there is no tomorrow!

Make today special, live like there is no tomorrow.  Actually, Tim McGraw says it best in his song “Live Like You Were Dying”… If that were the case, which in fact it is…every day that we live is one day closer to dying.  Why not LIVE…with no regrets. 

I recently met a woman whose husband died unexpectedly.  She is filled with regrets. 

She said “Had I only known… I would have waited on him hand and foot.  I would have made his last days special.”  “He had so many plans… barn conversions, riverboat trips, new product development.”  It all sounded wonderful and exciting.  As I listened to her talk…she was so in love, so enamored with her husband, so hopeful for…all that he had planned.  I did my best…as much as a complete stranger can do in a moment like that…I recounted back to her all of the exciting things that they had done and reminded her that her husband had lived a full and rewarding life.  It seemed to me, a complete stranger, that he had done it all! 

None of us are guaranteed tomorrow…no matter the plans we make, we do not know when our time here on this earth will be done.

Her words struck me like lightening…how many plans do I have?  When am I going to get around to IT!? Does my family really know how much I love them?  Should tomorrow be their last would I have regrets?…Yes! 

Today I have regrets but things do not have to stay this way.  I can make a change!  I can begin to live my life-like today is THE DAY!  Make today special…for my husband and son.  Make today special for my Mom and Dad and my Sisters.  Make today special for my Friends.  Make that phone call, send that hand written note, write a kind word on someones Facebook page.  Just do it…make today special…live like there is no tomorrow!

14 Comments

Filed under encouragment