The Gift of Grace…

When I first believed and accepted Jesus Christ as my Lord and Savior I received a gift…The gift of Grace…God’s riches at Christ’s expense. I asked for forgiveness and acceptance. I turned away from my old ways and chose a new path. 

Although I did not feel worthy of receiving such an incredible gift…the gift of grace.  It was given to me, unconditionally.  No strings attached…no further requirement on my part.  It was and is a free gift.

As I have grown in my faith I now understand a little bit about grace.  Along the way I have learned to extend the gift of grace to those around me.  It is often those who least deserve the gift who need it the most.(I was one of those people)  Therefore, it is given without the expectation of getting anything in return. 

Sometimes there are individuals in our life that require extra grace, sometimes I can be one of those people.  Nonetheless, grace is required, grace is given.  I am thankful everyday for the grace that is afforded me by those in my life, no strings attached.

Ephesians 2:8-9 “For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith–and this not from yourselves, it is the gift of God– not by works, so that no one can boast.”

What Is Grace?

What is grace? Grace is love that seeks you out when you have nothing to give in return. Grace is love coming at you that has nothing to do with you. Grace is being loved when you are unlovable. The cliché definition of grace is “unconditional love.” It is a true cliché, for it is a good description of the thing…Let’s go a little further, though.

Grace is a love that has nothing to do with you, the beloved. It has everything and only to do with the lover. Grace is irrational in the sense that it has nothing to do with weights and measures. It has nothing to do with my intrinsic qualities or so-called “gifts” (whatever they may be). It reflects a decision on the part of the giver (the one who loves) in relation to the receiver (the one who is loved) that negates any qualifications the receiver may personally hold…Grace is one-way love.

****************************************************************************************************************************************************

This post is part of the Blogging Challenge: A to Z April Challenge…this is the letter “G”!

7 Comments

Filed under Blogging Challenges, Blogging from A-Z April Blogging Challenge, encouragment, Faith

7 responses to “The Gift of Grace…

  1. You described grace beautifully. I chose the word grace for the letter g today as well.

  2. Pingback: G is for God's Grace | wateredsoul.com

  3. Great timing on the letter g and ‘grace’, with Easter tomorrow. My mind has been on Jesus’ sacrifice. (The kids have been thinking more about Easter baskets and chocolate bunnies. I expect that might change with age.)

  4. Perfect timing on G and a lovely post. Thank you for sharing your faith.

  5. Pingback: There you have it…From A to Z! « jeanne's blog…a nola girl at heart

Leave a Reply

