BuzzzZZZZZZ…..like a Bee!

This past Saturday, the Hubs and I were enjoying our morning cup of coffee on the front porch.  We live in a ranch style community and typically there is very little traffic on our street.  On this particular morning we heard what sounded like a truck coming down the road…yes it’s that quite…the sound was getting closer and closer, until the sound was upon us but there was no sign of a vehicle. 

Upon closer inspection…

We discovered that we were being checked out…

By a colony of beeezzzz  that were in search of new residence.

They buzzed around our big oak tree for about 20 minutes…before deciding it was not suitable for there needs.  I have to say that I was happy to see them go.  It was an amazzzing site to see….buzzzzing beeezzzz!

*************************************************************************************************************************************

This post is part of the Blogging Challenge: A to Z April Challenge.  This post is brought to you by the letter ” Z”! 

Related articles

4 Comments

Filed under Blogging Challenges, Blogging from A-Z April Blogging Challenge, Nature

4 responses to “BuzzzZZZZZZ…..like a Bee!

  1. How exciting! I would love to see such a sight, from a safe distance of course. ;)

  2. I know I have “complained” about this challenge, but in reality I have enjoyed it. It was a good disciplline for scatter-brained me, in much the same way that I have been following a daily “meme,” to help keep me focused. This added all the more to it. So, I am of two minds about it all coming to an end. It might be interesting to find out if there are other so-called challenges out there – one for each month! Not sure I would sign on for all of them, but I would certainly like to know if there are some that would be of interest to me!

    Anyway – I love your “Z-ing B’s!” To see an entire colony is really amazing. We unfortunately had one that took up residence in one of the parsonages we lived in in Tennesee. They got in through a hole in an eave and set up house somewhere above the ceiling! We found ande asked a bee-keeper to come and remove the colony, but when he came, he found out that it would be almost impossible to remove them, so we unfortunately had to have them exterminated. It really killed us to do it, but we have a son that is very allergic to bee and wasp stings, and we couldn’t take the risk. It was a HUGE hive, and we don’t know exactly when they came – we weren’t around when they arrived, but it was sometime after we moved to that parsonage.

    I thought at first that you were going to tell us that the buzzing sound was coming from ONE Bumble Bee! They can be quite noisy, but I don’t believe that one bee could be as loud as a truck – even though it sometimes seems almost like that! I love the post and the photos! Extraordinary! Have a great month of May!

    XO Paula

    • Paula, last year when the April challenge was over I felt like a puddle of melted jello. I couldnt think for days…This year was much more enjoyable…I didn’t push too hard, I just went with the flow…I actually skipped a letter. “K”! I just couldn’t pull the post together so I just let it go.

      I would like to find other challenges as well…let me know if you come across anything.

Leave a Reply

