Monday’s Menu…Spicy Shrimp with Spaghetti Aglio Olio

Let me just set the record straight…my husband is the cook in our house.  It’s not that I am not a good cook, he just enjoys the process more than I do.  And while I am setting things straight, I prefer eating.  However, if pasta is on the menu I will be wearing the apron. 

On the way home the Hubs called and asked if I would make a shrimp pasta dish for dinner…I immediately knew I wanted to keep it simple.  I chose the following recipe….I had to make a couple of adjustments to the recipe…I would caution you to go light on the salt.  Otherwise…Spicy Shrimp w/ Spaghetti Aglio Olio was delicious. 

The photo is from the foodnetwork.com website…my camera wasn’t available…blogging failure…I know!  One more thing for the record…my plate looked prettier!

Recipe courtesy of Rachel Ray and the Food Network…

Ingredients

Spicy Shrimp:

  • 2 pounds jumbo shrimp, peeled and deveined
  • 1 lemon, juiced
  • 1/4 cup chopped flat-leaf parsley (a couple of handfuls) (I had to sub green onions because that’s what I had on hand)
  • 1 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
  • 4 cloves garlic, crushed and peeled
  • Coarse salt, about 1 teaspoon  (go easy)
  • 2 tablespoons (a couple of generous drizzles) extra-virgin olive oil

Aglio Olio:

  • 1/4 cup (4 turns around the pan in a light stream) extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 (2-ounce) tin anchovy fillets
  • 6 to 8 large cloves garlic, crushed and minced  (4 large cloves was plenty)
  • 1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped flat leaf parsley, a couple of handfuls
  • Coarse salt  (omit)
  • 1 pound spaghetti, cooked to al dente
  • Tomato and Onion Salad, as an accompaniment
  • Crusty bread, as an accompaniment

Directions

Combine shrimp with next 6 ingredients and toss to coat shrimp evenly.

Heat a large, nonstick skillet over medium high heat, then add half of the shrimp. Cook shrimp 3 minutes until pink and just firm. Remove shrimp to a warm platter and repeat process with remaining shrimp.

Return pan to heat and reduce heat to medium low. Add 1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil. Add anchovies, garlic, and pepper flakes to oil. Break up anchovies with a wooden spoon until they melt away into the oil and garlic mixture.

Toss spaghetti in the pan with parsley and the garlic oil, then season with a little coarse salt, to your taste. Top servings of garlic and oil spaghetti with spicy shrimp and serve with Tomato and Onion Salad and Crusty Bread. (Again do not add the additional salt…)

Cook’s Notes: Prepare the shrimp while the pasta is cooking.

Prep your garlic and parsley for aglio olio and set them, as well as drained pasta and remaining ingredients all within arm’s reach of your stove top.

The aroma will be intense! Cooked anchovies have a salted-nutty (rather than fishy) taste that compliments the garlic as it sweetens and softens.

1 Comment

Filed under All Things Foodie

One response to “Monday’s Menu…Spicy Shrimp with Spaghetti Aglio Olio

  1. Yum yum! I don’t eat a lot of pasta but when you pair with shrimp I am all in :) will definitely try this, thanks for sharing your recipe!!
    MJ

Leave a Reply

