loving one another….

I have a sweet friend at church who thanks me almost daily for my smile and my hugs and my prayers.  She always tells me she loves me and then she says “you don’t know how much I love you”, I love you!  I always thank her for her kindness and tell her that I love her too.  But today, I had to admit that I don’t know how much she loves me.  I know that she says she loves me and I believe her.  But I do not know the depth of her love. 

I say “I love you” to my family and friends on a regular basis.  I say it at the end of phone calls, before we go to sleep at night and sometimes for no apparent reason.  But does my husband or my son know the depth of my love.   How do I express how much I love them or the depth of my love?  Do they have any idea to what lengths I would go for them? Does anyone really know how deeply someone loves them? 

The bible tells us in John 15:13 “Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends”.  That is what we do when we truly love someone, we lay down our life.  We practice sacrificial love by listening, helping, encouraging and giving to the ones we love.  We give all the love we can and then we try to give a little more.  I am thankful for God’s love.  I am thankful that God has given me family and friends that lay their life down for me daily and I am especially thankful that I get to do the same for them.  I am truly Blessed!

Leave a comment

Filed under Life..such as it is, my story..

Leave a Reply

