meeting the home buyers….

Typically it is recommended that the seller and the potential buyer not meet.  The concern is that the home owner will say something that could mislead the potential buyer and in the end cast an unfavorable light on the home owner.  Also the home owner is emotionally attached to the home and could make it hard for the potential buyer to see themselves living in the house. 

We did a pretty good job of getting out-of-the-way most of the time.  There were instances where we were leaving as the lookieloos were arriving or get back home just as they were leaving.  On two occasions we did actually have a few words with the home shoppers. 

We were successful in staying out of sight until tonight.  We were expecting the family that is buying our house to show up @ 7pm.  Danny and I were busy straightening up when the doorbell rang and lo and behold the home buyers were standing right there in front of me.  OH NO!  What am I supposed to do?  Do I let them in, do I talk to them?   I can’t leave I have food in the oven.  After a moment of uncertainty I welcomed them in and went back to what I was doing, baking cookies so the house would smell warm and inviting. 

Well at this point there wasn’t much we could do so we just stuck around.  I am so glad we got to meet them.  They are a very sweet family and are so excited about buying their first home.  They told us that the minute they walked into our house they felt like they were home.  We were able to hear their story of how they had been looking for their first home for over a year, they shared with us how they had prayed about the house but they were trusting in God’s will.  We were able to share with them how we felt God leading us to accept their offer.  We talked for over an hour and when they left I felt like I had made new friends.

1 Comment

Filed under family, Home Sweet Home, my story..

One response to “meeting the home buyers….

  1. vicki payne

    What an awesome God!

Leave a Reply

