a dream come true

For years Danny and I have talked about buying a piece of property in the country and building our dream home.  Danny grew up in the country and has always wanted to get back to his roots.  On the other hand I am a city girl who loves to be around people.  I guess we are kinda like the Douglas’ on that old show Green Acres except without the money.  Several years ago we found a piece of property, 4 acres in Iowa Colony.  We got a great deal on it and immediately started clearing the land.  It didn’t take long to figure out the land was covered in poison ivy and so were we.  Although we thought we could overcome the poison ivy it was just a little to country for me.  Our nearest neighbors kids were in AG and the cow pens butted up to our property line.  It didn’t take long to figure out that I didn’t want to smell cows while trying to enjoy my morning cup of coffee.  So, we decided that we would not be building our dream home on this property.   I don’t think it was God’s plan for us either.  We decided to sell.  It didn’t take long to find a buyer and we turned a nice little profit. 

A couple of years go by and we have the itch again.  After a little looking, Danny found a great piece of property in Rosharon, 2 acres in a deed restricted neighborhood.  The best of both worlds.  This is a really beautiful piece of property, one oak tree that is at least 100 years old and 2 others half as old.  When we have been out to the land we have seen large owls, a mama pig and her piglets, over-sized rabbits and deer, lots of deer.  We have affectionately dubbed the property the hundred acre wood.  I just hope we don’t see a Tigger or Pooh Bear. 

Danny and I are very excited about realizing our dream of building a home in the country.  But it’s coming with some resistance.  Our 20-year-old son is really having a difficult time with the change.  He loves the house he grew up in as do I.  We have lived in this house for more than half his life. I don’t think he realizes why this house means so much to him.   This house is more than a home, it is security, it is comfortable, it is dependable, it is his childhood.  Leaving this house means so much more than just moving for him.  It means change, it’s time to grow up, become responsible, make his own way in the world.  All of which can be a little scary.  I admit I am a little scared at the uncertainty of it all.  But I am more excited at the possibilities.  I hope I can help him to see the excitement of new beginnings.  I hope he will never forget his childhood in this house that he loves but I hope he will begin to see the unlimited possibilities that are his future.  I know if things remain the same there will be no stretching and without stretching there can not be growth.  And it is time for all of us to stretch and grow into the person God has planned for us to be.

I know with all my heart that God has opened this door for our family.  God has a plan for each of us in our new home.  A plan that will help each of us to move out of our comfort zone, stretch and grow to be more Christ-like.  A plan that is unseen by our eyes but we know in our heart it is good.    A plan that will glorify HIM.  Jeremiah 29:11 “I know the plans I have for you, declares the LORD, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

Leave a comment

Filed under family, Home Sweet Home, my story..

Leave a Reply

