the desires of my heart…

Well they took a detour along the way.

 But a detour is just that, a temporary change in the direction on the way to your original planned destination.  That’s not to say that good things don’t happen on the detours, sometimes it’s the detours that help you realize exactly who you are and what you are looking  for.  At least that is how it happened for me.

Years ago…when I was much younger, my hearts desire was to find and marry my soul mate, have a child, create a family and live happily ever-after.  Well, the first attempt at the “happily-ever-after” ended in disaster.  Obviously I had not found my soul mate and luckily it ended before children came into the picture.  I am very thankful for that. 

But, then it happened, I met my soul mate, the love of my life, my best friend and  a man after my own heart.  We have been together for 24 years and married for 21.  We have a son.  He will be 21 next week.  We are a family!  We love one another, we disagree with one another, we are each our own person but at the end of the day we are “la familia”! 

Then something happened on the way to realizing the desires of my heart…something was still missing.  What could it be?  A family comes with needs and wants.  Wants and needs come with a price tag.  The price tag comes with bills.  And with all of that comes huge responsibilities.   Therefore, I must need to contribute more to my family financially.  That must be what’s missing in my life.   I change careers, work hard in an industry that typically doesn’t promote women into management and I achieve my newest hearts desire.  I am now the Director of Sales and Marketing for a multi-million dollar wholesale produce company.  I have it all!!  The family, the career and the REALLY BIG PAYCHECK.  And then, reality comes calling.  Is this it?  If this is IT, then IT isn’t for me.  This doesn’t resemble my “hearts desire”.  And I certainly don’t recognize the person in the mirror.  I have obviously taken a detour…

By the grace of God, I found my way back from the detour thru a book I read.  Cure for the Common Life by Max Lucado.  As I began to read “Cure”  I discovered that we are all happiest when we are doing what God has designed and planned for us to do.  GOD is the master planner, HE is the great creator, HE is the ultimate designer of all things great and small.  GOD has created people to be and do all kinds of things.  Those of us who are fortunate enough to love what we do for a living have achieved GOD’s desire for us. 

I am blessed to consider myself one of those individuals.  The road I chose to travel was full of road blocks and detours, but they all have led me to right where God wants me to be.  And I know this because I have never been happier than I am right now.  5 years ago I walked away from the “Position” and the “Paycheck” I had worked so hard to achieve.  I am now a servant of the Lord Jesus Christ, serving others and helping them to hopefully one day realize their hearts desire, God’s  desire for them and true happiness in this life.  No amount of prestige, fame or fortune can ever fill your heart to the fullest until you realize what it takes to fill your heart.  Jesus filled my heart to overflowing…He gave me the desires of my heart…you can have true happiness and a life filled with the desire’s of your heart if you just fill your heart with JESUS!

“Delight yourself in the LORD and he will give you the desires of your heart.”  Psalm 37:4

3 Comments

Filed under Life..such as it is, my story.., plain and simple

3 responses to “the desires of my heart…

  1. brandy

    Beautiful.

  2. Hi, very interesting post, greetings from Greece!

Leave a Reply

