my mother, her girlfriends and dessert…

My Mother warned me and I just wouldn’t listen!

I was just sitting here enjoying my absolute favorite comfort food, Sara Lee Original Strawberry Cream Cheesecake!  The experience begins when I open the container.  The smell of the rich, sweet fragrance of goodness.  It continues with the beautiful layers of texture; the graham cracker crust, the creamy cream cheese and the shiny plump strawberry topping.  And finally, the piece de resistance,  savouring each creamy mouthful.  All of the senses combined to create this most wonderful indulgence. Yes, I am eating it right out of the original container as the whole thing is MINE!

 And then it happened, a memory from long ago bubbling up from nowhere.   I could hear and see my mother and her friends talking and laughing and gossiping over coffee and dessert in our kitchen 30+ years ago.  As a young girl I was allowed to sit with them as long as I didn’t interrupt or repeat any part of  their conversations. I do not recall the details of their conversations but I do remember some of the advice that was offered.  On the few occasions I was allowed to “sit and be quiet I would receive very sage advice from my Mother’s 30 something=ish friends.   The advice was mostly concerning what kind of man I should marry, naturally it was based on the men they had not married.    But, On this particular Saturday afternoon I would get the ultimate advice.  And it must have been important because everyone was in agreement. 

I remember they were enjoying Coffee and  New York Style Cheesecake.  I expressed my interest in having a piece of dessert even though I thought “cheesecake” sounded less than appealing.  It was more about fitting in and being one of the girls even if it was for just a little while.   And that is when my Mother offered me this very wise piece of advice and everyone agreed.

She warned me that “Cheesecake is so delicious that after one bite I would be hooked and eventually you will wish you had never tried it“.  Well, this of course only made me want to try it more and of course I did try it and yes I am hooked. I will on occasion wish I had taken her advice, but only on a rare occasion.

Although I do not indulge in my favorite dessert very often, I am glad that I did not heed my Mother’s warning, because I would be missing out on what I have determined to be the best dessert available in the frozen food section of the grocery store. 

What advice have you received that you did not listen to?  Do you wish you had or hadn’t ?  I would love to hear your story.

1 Comment

Filed under All Things Foodie, family, my story..

One response to “my mother, her girlfriends and dessert…

  1. Pingback: Mom and Me…in the kitchen | jeanne's blog

Leave a Reply

