WOW…wacky…and wonderful…as seen on tv…

I was killing time at the pharmacy this afternoon, waiting for my prescription to be filled. I wandered down the aisle of Halloween decorations, costumes and candy.  I am not really into the whole Halloween thing except of course the candy, but I refrained from buying what I knew I would end up eating. Besides there is already a bowl of Halloween candy on the counter.

I strolled down the cosmetics aisle.  There wasn’t anything on sale that I just had to have…. today.  Tomorrow may be a different story all together. 

I stopped and looked at the display of colorful socks that are designed like gloves.  They are just weird!  I was amused by the tiny baby shirts with catchy phrases such as “I poop” and “I would rather be naked”. 

 Then there it was the end cap filled with the “As seen on TV” products.  I couldn’t help myself, I had to snap a few pictures with the iPhone camera. 

There was the very popular Snuggie!  WONDERFUL!!!

There was the Bumpits!  WOW!!!

The “Microwave Pasta Boat”!  WACKY!!!

Yes there is more!  The “Perfect Brownie Pan Set”

The Mighty Fix It!

And the “Over the Door Wonder Hanger”!

Looking at these incredible must have items, i hope you can hear the sarcasm in my voice,  I find myself thinking about the person who had these million dollar ideas. 

What type of person thinks that the world needs a microwave bowl for cooking pasta.   Does it really take too long to make pasta on the stove?  Is it the 5 or so minutes it takes to boil the water or the 7 or so minutes it takes to cook the pasta?  Really!? 

Then there is the “Bump It”, “Get full, volumized hair in just seconds! From flat to fabulous!”  I think it actually makes you look like you have a very large bump on your head, like maybe you should go to the hospital for evaluation.  I am just saying…Really!!

But on the other hand there is the incredibly popular “Snuggie” in spite of its infomercial that makes everyone look like they are part of a cult.  Especially the older grey haired man who looks like the wizard of OZ.   I have friends  who keep them at their desks because we have incredibly reliable air conditioning in our offices.  And I know so many individuals who own them or have given them as gifts. 

I know there are good reliable products that are branded “As Seen On TV” but for the most part the majority of these products are far less than the hype they receive in the commercial.  I think the person who came up with there million dollar idea more than likely envisioned their product totally different from how it turned out once they sold the idea to the idea man with the money.

Money is too tight these days to be taken in by a smooth fast talking, loud mouth pitchman.   Money is too tight to fall for the lie that the offer is only good for the next 30 seconds or even the incredible buy 1 get 2 free, just pay for the shipping and handling offer.  You owe it to yourself to check out any product before you buy it.  If you rush in you will more than likely end up with buyer’s remorse.  I am speaking from experience and have had my fair share of buyer’s remorse.

So do your homework…check it out for yourself, you will be glad you did…no matter if it’s WOW…wacky.. and or wonderful…as seen on tv

1 Comment

Filed under Life..such as it is

One response to “WOW…wacky…and wonderful…as seen on tv…

  1. Pingback: 9 months and counting…the gestation of a blog | jeanne's blog

Leave a Reply

