9 months and counting…the gestation of a blog

9 months and 70 posts later… It feels like I am just finishing up my first trimester, which would mean this blog has  a 24 month gestation period.   I didn’t realize that developing and nurturing a blog would take almost as long as it takes for an elepahant to have a baby. Lord give me strength and focus.

Ideas may come to you in a fleeting moment  but taking that idea from conception to development requires commitment.  A commitment of not only of time but also of heart and soul.  There have been  times when I have crafted a post that comes from my very soul and I barely got more than a handful of views.  Then there was the post that I wrote on the fly.  It took very little effort and it was the  hit of the month.  I have questioned why I ever began blogging.  And then  the greatest thing happened a blog comment from one of my favorite bloggers.  The light shone from heaven and the angels sang and all was right in my blogging world.

I will admit that I am addicted to checking my stats.  In some sick way I equate my stats with being liked.  There isn’t anything tangible in the stats other than the fact that someone has at least clicked on a post.  There is no way of knowing if they actually read the post or if in fact they felt one way or the other about it, because 98% of the time there isn’t a comment.  But in my somewhat twisted mind I think surely they liked what I had to say, Right? Right. Right!!

My best day as a blogger was the day I had 55 visits.  The second best day is when someone went through my blog posts and visited nearly every post and tweeted them, that day I had 44 visits.  BTW, are they called visits, hits or clicks or something entirely different?

After finding a few blogs to follow and studying the different types of blog posts that bloggers are incorporating into their blog world, I have begun to try a few new things.  If nothing else it is helping me to think outside of the blog box I had climbed into.   These ideas are helping me to think about blogging throughout my day instead of just when I sit down at the computer at the end of my day.

Here are some the ideas I am trying! 

Tuesdays Treats and Treasures…pictures that do not require descriptions.

WOW…wacky, wonderful…something out of the ordinary, a hmmmmm moment.

blogging on the go…a quick blog post about something happening in my day.

friday’s find…something new I discover on a Friday.

As of today I have 71 posts on my blog.  I have had 2050 views.  I have approved 87 comments.  I have discovered that people love posts about food, travel and all things unusual or out of the ordinary.  

How long have you been blogging?   How long did it take you to get into the blogger zone?  What was your best day as a blogger?

4 Comments

Filed under Thoughts on Blogging

4 responses to “9 months and counting…the gestation of a blog

  1. It does seem very random, right? I remember once thinking, “Oh people will love this,” and I hot nothing, and then something that I whipped off struck a nerve. I loved being Freshly Pressed 3 times in 3 months, but it was a tease. I’ve been blogging since the end of May 2010, and I’ve had over 20,000 visits. I agree; when people comment, it feels a little bit like love. 😉

    Like you, I am a stat addict. But I am trying to reform myself. I don’t think it’s healthy. Seriously.

    Thank you for visiting my blog. Today I posted late in the day. I didn’t expect much. It was more for me.

    I hope you’ll visit me again.

    xoxoRASJ

    • jterrill

      Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment on my post…you are right about the stats…but I may need some friendly intervention…

  2. I am sooo new to the blogging world. Congrats on being Freshly Pressed (above post)! I found my way down to this one because the title enticed me. I think in the future I will post something similar about my progress here — and point to you, of course, for the idea!. I drool over the stats and comments too, last I looked I had totaled 60 visits and 3 comments (one from me and two from the same person!), but I’ve only been on this ride for a few days.

    • jterrill

      Colleen the blogging world is a great adventure. I love finding bloggers I connect with for one reason or another. I thought this was going to be my new hobby but it has turned out to be my new passion. Best of luck with your new blog. I will be stopping by soon to check out letterandleaves.

Leave a Reply

