it’s just like riding a bike…how hard can that be? Right?

You’ve heard that old saying, “it’s like riding a bike, you never forget”.  Well I am here to set the record straight.   First of all, remembering how to ride a bike is a lot different from actually riding a bike.  Speaking from experience I can remember how to do a lot of things.  That does not mean that they I can actually do them currently.   I remember I used to be pretty good on the uneven parallel bars, but I wouldn’t try doing that these days. 

Even professional athletes, which I am not one of, get a little rusty when they have been on the DL for a couple of months.  It takes a little while to knock the rust off and get back into the groove. 

Well for me, it has been years since I have ridden a bike.  So there is a more than a little rust here and this could take quite sometime to get back in the groove.  Oh don’t get me wrong, I can still ride a bike.  I am just not as sure of my self as a once was, at least not when it comes to riding the bike.  Which is really kind of annoying. 

You see, I remember as a kid we rode our bikes everyday all day.  We would ride around the same neighborhood streets for hours and hours.  We would do crazy things like ride with no hands or put our feet over the handlebars or even stand up on the seat.  I know what your thinking, those crazy kids what were they thinking?  That’s just it!  We weren’t thinking!  We were just riding! 

I think that may be the biggest part of my problem with getting back into the groove of riding my bike.  It’s my stinkin thinkin.  Before, I even leave the driveway I am already thinking about getting back.  I am not just heading out for a joy ride, I am thinking of it as getting some exercise.  I know I need to get some exercise but I don’t enjoy exercising.  That’s why I got a bike.  Because I remember riding a bike when I was a kid…and it was great and I loved it and how hard could it be to ride a bike.  Take my word for it, getting back on a bike after years of not riding a bike it’s easy to get on, it’s the getting going part that’s gonna take some time.  But I am up for it…it’s just like riding a bike…Right?

God grant me the serenity
to accept the things I cannot change;
courage to change the things I can;
and wisdom to know the difference.

1 Comment

Filed under Life..such as it is, plain and simple

One response to “it’s just like riding a bike…how hard can that be? Right?

  1. I think that riding a bike as a child is sooooo totally different than as an adult. It was so much more relaxing for one and what 11 year old kid ever thought of attaching themselves to the pedals while decked out in spandex????

Leave a Reply

