pie…pot pie…turkey pot pie

When my husband and I were first married we had to learn to stretch the dollar.  Sometimes the local grocery store would run a 10/$10 special on different items in the store.  One of the items was pot pies.   You can imagine that we ate more than our share of the grocer special.  So much so that we haven’t eaten them in years.  But one of my favorite foodies posted a recipe for turkey pot pie, and that got me thinkin’. 

I had shown my husband the post about the turkey pot pie and we agreed it looked enticing.  I mentioned that I would be willing to make these for Sunday dinner.  Well it obviously sounded very good to him because I came home from church/work Sunday afternoon to find everything ready and waiting.

Here is what happened!  By the way…they were delicious! Before we were even finished eating my sweet husband was already thinking about the next time we would make Pot Pies!

Leftover Turkey Pot Pie
Serves 6
Prep Time 40 minutes
Bake Time 35 minutes

Ingredients:
2 pkgs Pillsbury refrigerated pie crust
2 med potatoes diced small
1 rib celery sliced
1 sm onion diced
2 carrots diced
1 pkg frozen green beans
1cupe of turkey or chicken stock
3 cups of diced turkey breast
2 tblsp olive oil
1 can cream of chicken/mushroom soup
6 individual pie tins

Prep individual tins by spraying with cooking spray
Cut pie crust to fit in tins, 12 total, save six for the top of each pie
Brush the pie crust with egg wash before baking
Bake at 350 degrees for 10 minutes
Allow to cool completely

Prepare Filling
In a separate saucepan heat soup
In a large skillet
Add 2tblsp of olive oil
Saute potatoes, celery and carrot until slightly tender
Add stock as needed to keep veggies from sticking and to add flavor
Add salt and pepper to taste
Add green beans, cook 2 minutes
Add pre-cooked turkey
Heat thoroughly
Add heated soup
Mix thoroughly
Fill pre-baked pie tins
Cover each with remaining pie crust
Brush with egg wash
Make 4 slits in the top of pie crust to release steam
Place pie tins on baking sheet
Cook 30 minutes at 350 degrees
Finish off under Broiler on high for 5 minutes or until golden brown
ENJOY!

6 Comments

Filed under All Things Foodie

6 responses to “pie…pot pie…turkey pot pie

  1. Stacy T

    That looks really good!

    I grew up on the store pot pies, because they were so cheap, and they always had peas in them! I HATE peas!

    But this one looks really good. I may have to try it.

    • jterrill

      StacyT, our kitchen is a “no pea” zone as well. The recipe is really easy and very tasty. Let me know what you think if you try it.

  2. Jane

    Hey girl-
    Do you freeze the extra pies?

    • jterrill

      Hi Jane, We cooked all them this time. But I am already thinking about making a batch and freezing them to see how they turn out. I will let you know what happens. Thanks for stopping by the blog!

  3. LaJuan

    Where did you find the pie tins?

    • jterrill

      HI Mamaaun, my sweet husband found them at Kroger on the isle with the disposable baking tins. Good Luck! If you try the recipe let me know how it turns out.

Leave a Reply

