stop planning another guilt trip?

google image

Most days are hurried…stressed…difficult…at best.  We rush through our morning coffee, we rush off to work, we rush through our lunch, we rush from work to the gym, to pick up the kids, to drop the kids off at various after school activities.  We then rush home to rush through dinner, dishes, homework all so we can get up and start all over again tomorrow.  We are rushing our lives away.

Why are we always in such a hurry?  Why is it that when we take a moment for ourselves the guilt monster comes creeping in to what amounts to a minute or two of free time?

When was the last time you enjoyed dessert without the guilt?  When was the last time you indulged in a meal without feeling guilt or scouring the menu for the healthiest option?  When was the last time you sat down in a coffee shop and enjoyed your coffee in a ceramic cup? 

Guilt is a sneaky emotional cancer, one that most adults are afflicted with for most of their adult life. Actually guilt isn’t innate, it’s a byproduct of social conditioning.   Guilt is self inflicted.  We over commit and under plan.  There are only so many hours in the day.  Let me throw this at you.  If you only had 30 days to live, would you fill your time with …..?  Sometimes we have to say no to the good things so we an say yes to the great things. If you are so busy taking care of everyone else in your life and you neglect yourself, eventually you will not be able to take care of anyone.  Unpack your bag of guilt.  Slow down, have a cup of coffee with a friend, visit a museum and enjoy your dessert without beating  yourself up.  Life is too short to rush through it. 

So I took my own advice…I spent a guilt free day with a few special friends.  We met for an early lunch at Dolce Vita, one of America’s top rated pizzerias.  We leisurely enjoyed our incredible apps and pizzas.  From there we headed over to the Houston Museum of Fine Arts to view the exhibit by Carlos Cruz-Diez: Color in space and time.  Later in the afternoon we stopped into a cafe for an afternoon coffee break and a shared dessert.   It was an enjoyable day…relaxed…comfortable…easy…guilt free! 

Why can’t everyday be a guilt free day?  

BTW, the pizza we ordered for lunch deserves a mention; authentic thin crust Neapolitan style pizza.  I ordered the Taleggio with taleggio, arugula, sliced pears and truffle oil.  My friend Emma ordered the Zucca with butternut squash, pancetta, smoked bafala mozzarella and red onions.   Tyra ordered the Salsiccia e Friarielli with sausage, rapini and pecorino.  We also enjoyed an appetizer of shaved brussel sprouts with lime vinaigrette and pecorino.  Fantastico!!!

12 Comments

Filed under encouragment, postaweek2011

12 responses to “stop planning another guilt trip?

  1. Great advice. I swear, I’m going to give myself a guilt-free day…. soon!

  2. Glad you had such a wonderful day.

    When we change the way we view the world, we realize that we should only feel guilty if we are not as happy as we can possibly be in any given moment.

    http://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2011/01/11/from-ordinary-to-extraordinary/

    Here’s to living life with JOY not GUILT.

  3. Sounds like a great day! I also don’t take enough time to enjoy God’s blessings…

    • Erin, HIS blessings have been planned out for our enjoyment, we should all take time to stop and “smell the roses” as the saying goes. I hope you will treat yourself to a special moment. It will bless everyone around you. Have a JOYful weekend!

  4. I hear you… all that rushing for only God knows what. I’m enjoying an outing with a friend, this weekend, from the wrap up of restaurant week at a fav place downtown Manhattan. Life must go on. 🙂
    Eliz

  5. Guilt is a sneaky emotional cancer, one that most adults are afflicted with for most of their adult life. Actually guilt isn’t innate, it’s a byproduct of social conditioning. Guilt is self inflicted…
    +
    wow! maybe we need rage to get all those guilt-mood …
    http://flickrcomments.wordpress.com/2011/01/26/rage/

  6. Fantastic post and reminder that we really do need to slow down, enjoy our moments and really live our lives. Lunch sounded spectacular – unique for sure!
    Debbie 🙂

  7. Lovely Post Jeane… I am alsways consumed with guilt when I sit at my Pc thinking I should be in the garden adn when I’, in the garden I am consumed with guilt I should be doing housework!

    Glad you took time out. …great idea it’s been a long time since I organised a girlie lunch…

  8. Ever since I began blogging, I’ve given myself more and more guilt-free days. My love for writing has allowed me to think of me first. At 61 years of age, I finally feel as though I got my life back. Not that I don’t love my family, I do. But now I’m loving me too.

    great advice…hugmamma. 🙂

  9. Pingback: Whip Me, Beat Me… Guilt Me??? | Ken's Cushion

Leave a Reply

