Weekly Photo Challenge…shadow

A shadow is an area where direct light from a light source cannot reach due to obstruction by an object. It occupies all of the space behind an opaque object with light in front of it. The cross-section of a shadow is a two-dimensional silhouette,  or reverse projection of the object blocking the light.The sun causes many objects to have shadows and at certain times of the day, when the sun is at certain heights, the length of shadows change.  Sayeth Wikipedia… 

 The pictures are a bit blurry, thaks to my iphone, I got caught with with a dead camera battery. 

Frankoma Pottery

12 Comments

Filed under postaweek2011, Weekly Photo Challenge

12 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge…shadow

  1. Clever photo! I remember setting up arrangements such as these when I used to go to ART classes.
    🙂

    • Hi Pip, I was trying to capture the color of the pieces so I could use them as the color palette for our new homes interior. Glad you liked the photo!

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Shadow | Piglet in Portugal

  3. I love these photos, Jeanne.

    Simple objects offer tremendous strength at times.

  4. Beautiful pottery! Are they antiques? Love your arrangement of them. Are you a photography buff? With my easy “point and shoot,” camera, I’m beginning to really enjoy picture-taking, though it doesn’t make me a professional, far from it. All I can do is “point and shoot.” My daughter recently showed me how to zoom “in” and “out.”

    hugs for sharing…hugmamma. 😉

    • Thanks for your kind words! I love the simple lines and the beautiful glaze on this ameican made pottery. These particular pics were taken with my camera phone. I took the pics to use as the color palette for the interior of our new home. I am far from being a professional. I use a Sony cybershot to take most of my pics and fom time to time I use my husbands Canon SLR with a zoom lens. Here are a couple of things I have found helpful; natural light is better than using a flash and always snap two pictures whenever possible. Have a JOYful week!

      • It’s hard to believe you took these pictures with your phone. They’re clarity is amazing. What kind of phone do you have? My cell phone takes very poor pics. I only use it in an emergency.

        I love interior design as well. The colors you’ve selected look very soothing. Very nice.

        Thanks for the well wishes, and the same to you. Hope your days are warmer and sunnier than ours have been. But it seems like spring is about to burst. Keeping my fingers crossed.

        hugs…hugmamma. 🙂

      • At the time I had the iphone 3GS, whatever that means. The pictures on todays post were taken with my new iphone 4. I keep my camera with me at all times but I sometimes forget to check the battery. You would think I would learn.
        Have a JOYful day!

  5. Love the shadows you’ve captured here!

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Light « Flickr Comments

Leave a Reply

