Munchie Monday…Shrimp Scampi

Tonight I tried my hand at a dish that always sounds good when I see it on the menu. I can only remember ordering it once in all the times I have eaten out.  I found this recipe in the Weight Watchers Cookbook and decided to give it a go.

This was incredibly easy to make and as it turned out, it was delicious!

4 teaspoons of olive oil
1 1/4 pounds medium shrimp, peeled (tails left on) and deveined
6 garlic gloves minced
1 cup low-sodium chicken broth
1/4 cup lemon juice
1/4 cup finely chopped fresh parsley
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/ teaspoon freshly ground pepper
4 lemon slices

In a large non-stick skillet, heat the oil.  Cook the shrimp for 2-3 minutes, then add the garlic and cook for an additional 30 seconds.  With a slotted spoon remove the shrimp to a platter. 

Add the chicken broth and lemon juice, parsley and spices to the pan.  Bring the liquid to a boil and simmer until the liquid is reduced by half.

Pour liquid over shrimp, garnish with sliced lemon.  Serve immediately!

I decided to serve a little side of angel hair pasta tossed in olive oil and fresh parsley sprinkled with a blend of shredded italian cheese.  I also toasted up a few slices of sourdough bread for dipping. 

Super Simple!  Super Delicious!

Happy Munchie Monday!   Make sure to head on over and share your recipe here! 

13 Comments

Filed under All Things Foodie, Blogging Challenges, postaweek2011

13 responses to “Munchie Monday…Shrimp Scampi

  1. This looks very good Jeanne. I love prawns but Mr Piglet always cooks them complete! This is a better idea. Not sure what angel hair is?
    PiP

    • Hi PIP, I like my shrimp every which way…angel hair is really thin spaghetti. If you give it a try let me know how it turn out.

      enJOY your day!

    • Yum. Yum. Yum.

      My favorite way to eat shrimp is shrimp scampi over pasta. Thanks, Jeanne.

      If you can’t find angel hair pasta, vermicelli would be very similar, PiP.

      • And, Jeanne, you’re now on my Blog Roll as NOLA Girl At Heart (Jeanne). Let me know if you want it as “Jeanne’s Blog” instead.

        Thanks for adding me to your Blogging Buddies list. You have me down as Spirit in the Light, and that’s fine. But I usually refer to my blog as Spirit Lights The Way or SLTW.

        Cheers.

      • Thanks for adding me to the blog roll. That makes me smile. I will correct my blogging budies list, thanks for the heads up.

        enJOY your day!

      • Thanks. Scatter Joy. :)

        BTW: I’m impressed with your photos and that you remember to take pictures while you’re cooking! And that you postpone eating long enough to photograph the finished product.

  2. Love your photos! Did you do Weight Watchers? I did it a couple of times, lost weight, regained it, and some. Am just doing my own version of many different programs that offer good info. Aging doesn’t help, that’s for sure. Metabolism isn’t what it use to be. But I keep working on it.

    great recipe…hugmamma. :)

    • Well, I like the idea of weight watchers. I LOVE food. So I like that I can eat whatever I want so long as I keep up with the points. I am trying to get the Mr. to do it with me. I am pretty sure the “change” is upon me so I have to make a few adjustments in my life and this one of them. The ladies a t work walk a couple of days a week during the lunch hour so I will be joining them for a little “prayer walking”. I will be praying I can keep up with them.

      enJOY your day!

      • Wanted to let you know I’ve mentioned you as a blog buddy on my blog. You might want to check out the post “blog buddies, getting it…finally.” Am delighted to keep a running dialogue with someone whose life seems in sync with mine. It’s wonderful making friends wherever we can, especially on the internet, where its vastness can be intimidating.

        and you’ve a tongue-in-cheek sense of humor like me, ha, ha…hugmamma. ;)

      • Thanks hugamamma!!! enJOY your day!

  3. Shrimp Scampi – an excellent dish! I could eat this all day every day (ok, well). Perfect combinations; shrimp, garlic, lemon……
    Thank you for sharing!
    Debbie :-)

  4. Steffani

    I just love your blog!

Leave a Reply

