Daily Archives: March 14, 2011

standing in a rainbow…

On my recent girls day outing to the Museum of Fine Arts I had the experience of a lifetime.  The art exhibit was the work of Carlos Cruz-Diez.  It is hard to categorize his work.  It is an incredible combination of color, light and architecture.   However, the exhibit was a bit of an assault on my eyes. 

The exhibit was intriguing and meant to be experienced at different angles taking in the light and texture of each piece.  Some pieces just called you to come closer, beckoned you to step in another few inches, even to reach out and to…but the museum guards were ever so protective…..excuse me ma’am would you mind stepping back….you must stay back at least 2′, reminding me over and over again, do not touch…. I understand they were only doing their job but it was annoying to say the least. 

 At the end of the exhibit was a white room filled with flourescent lights.  Depending on where you stood in the room determined the colors you would experience.  I found the room incredibly soothing, which was not the case for everyone who entered.  Then it occurred to me that this is what standing in the middle of a rainbow would be like. 

At the museum photographing the exhibits is off-limits, however I could not resist.  I just knew this was a once in a lifetime experience.  So I did what I had to do.  I pulled out my handy little iPhone and snapped a  couple of pics.  Yes, I was reprimanded.  But I explained that it was so beautiful I couldn’t help myself.  “It’s like standing in a rainbow!” 

I hope you enJOY the experience! 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

17 Comments

Filed under Life..such as it is, postaweek2011