Book Review: Divine Appointments

About this Book

Josie Brooks, at the age of 47, thought she was leading an enviable single life. A successful consultant, she calls her own shots, goes where the money is, and never needs to compromise. But her precisely managed world begins to falter during a Chicago contract when an economic downturn, a bleeding heart boss, and the loyalty and kindness between endangered employees ding her coat of armor.

The Up Side:  Charlene Ann Baumbich has captured the unique personalities of each of her characters in a way that made me feel as though I had known them for years.  I especially liked Josie Brooks.  I was able to relate to her drive to be successful and in control, until the events of life are no longer controllable.  I believe that the people and events in our life are more than consequences they are divine appointments.

The Downside:  I never really understood the need for the sidebar writing tangent of the character Marsha who was dealing with life’s roller coaster ride of divorce.  The character names were bizarre and hard to pronounce and I found myself just skipping over these unnecessay page fillers. The book was complete with out the distraction.

Divine Appointments: All in all a good read!

“I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review”.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Book Review: Divine Appointments

  1. Jeanne! I have something I think you’ll be interested in!!! I need your email!!! If you don’t want to post it up here you can just email me 🙂
    tiffanyeriksen@gmail.com

    Thanks!!!!!

  2. Great review! Gives me a good idea of how mine should be when I receive and read my first book from “Blogging for Books,” tight and to the point.

    hugs…hugmamma. 🙂

Leave a Reply

