my GPS has an attitude…

girl please stay on they hightlighted route

 I have a GPS and I use it!  My husband bought it for me when we moved to the country.  I could not get my bearings.  Oh I could get where I needed to go but I couldn’t “see” how I was getting there.  I always felt like I was driving in circles.  So for my birthday he gifted me a cute little companion for my car.  And lo and behold I could “see” again. 

Now, I rarely need it.   However, from time to time I will plug-in an address that I am very familiar with just to see if my friendly car companion knows a quicker route.  Inevitably I do not take her suggestion because I know better.  This keeps her busy “re-calculating” the route. 

 There are times when I think my cute little GPS gives me just a little too much attitude.  As she is re-calculating the directions to compensate for what I am sure is deemed pure ignorance on my part she cops a little attitude and demands that I “return to the highlighted route” “return to the highlighted” “re-calculating”, “re-calculating”.  Over and over and what seems louder and with a little more persistance each time.    I do get a kick out of the hoops my little GPS jumps through trying to keep up with my meanderings. 

I have in the past taken an off ramp or two in life.  I am sure God was not surprised by my change in direction.  As patient as the LORD is with each of us and the choices we make in life, HE may have whispered to me on many an occasion “re-calculating”  “return to the highlighted route”.  I am very thankful that I have found my path in life and it is highlighted by God’s grace and mercy and unconditional love. 

 
 If you do not change direction, you may end up where you are heading.
Lao Tzu

Go confidently in the direction of your dreams. Live the life you have imagined.
Henry David Thoreau

John 14:6 Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.”

7 Comments

Filed under encouragment, Life..such as it is, postaweek2011

7 responses to “my GPS has an attitude…

  1. Enjoyed this post, Jeanne. I finally stopped practicing law when my SPS (Spiritual Positioning System) whispered, “You’re not doing what you came here to do.”

    http://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2010/07/25/youre-getting-warmer/

  2. Pingback: The Path of Least Resistance « Spirit Lights The Way

  3. I stay away from those navigation systems as their endless directional chatter gets annoying. God does lead the way… and a good map helps!
    Finally catching up after taking time out to handle offline stuff. 🙂
    Elizabeth

  4. Love your hula girl! Not crazy about gps’s, but they are great in a pinch. Not sure I could follow directions and drive. Have difficulty multi-tasking behind the wheel of a car. Prefer to do map quest beforehand, or do a dry run days before. My help aid is a photographic memory. If I’ve been someplace once, I can remember the route by various landmarks.

    whatever it takes…hugmamma. 😉

  5. I’ve set a link to your article at
    black-car

Leave a Reply

