(d) is for decorating (a-z challenge)

I enJOY making things look pretty!  Decorating our home or the bookstore that I manage or simply arranging the buffet line in the church cafe gives me a great sense of accomplishment and JOY!  It is my happy place!!!

This past weekend my husband and I hosted a birthday party for his mother.  She celebrated her 75th (B)irthday

  I had the pleasure of spending time in the kitchen with my Mom prepping and cooking the appetizers and desserts for the party.

  While my mom was whipping up the italian creme birthday cake, carrot cake cupcakes, oatmeal cranberry cookies and chocolate dipped strawberries. I was working on the crunchy veggie dip, texas caviar and antipasta salad.  

 When all of the food was ready I was able to focus on the one thing I have a knack for… decorating.

 

I have linked up with Tossing it Out who is hosting the Blogging from A-Z April Blogging Challenge.  It’s a post a day for the month of April excluding Sundays.  You can learn more about it by clicking on the “A-Z Button” in the right side bar. 

I am linking up with Tablescape Thursday hosted by Naps on the Porch

14 Comments

Filed under Blogging Challenges, Blogging from A-Z April Blogging Challenge, Home Sweet Home, postaweek2011, Snapshots of Life

14 responses to “(d) is for decorating (a-z challenge)

  1. Beautiful job decorating and photographing the event, Jeanne.

    I didn’t know what Texas Caviar was . . . so I googled it. Very similar to some “salsas” I make with beans and corn in them. Yum!

    And Carrot Cake Cupcakes . . . double yum!

  2. Oh! what beautiful decorations and the photos are awesome ! You are very creative with decorating-I love bookstores. I go to one- close by at every opportunity-to browse through books for interest-and enjoy a good Latte while searching for my next novel purchase.

  3. You have a special knack for decorating. Beautiful! Great D post! Thank you for stopping in and leaving your kind words. Blessings!

  4. Pretty, spring decor! It’s obvious you love to beautify spaces.

    something we have in common…how’s your antiquing going?…hugmamma. 🙂

  5. Gidget

    The decorations were beautiful. My mouth is watering for a piece of that yummy cake. Your mom cooks the best deserts.

  6. Very nice decorations… She must have been thrilled! 🙂
    Eliz

  7. What a lovely table. And congrats to your Mom on her birthday. You are a sweet daughter to host a party for your mom. You did a great job. It all looks so nice and pretty. Thanks for sharing. Karie

  8. Beautiful table…the dessert menu sounds delicious, too!

  9. BEAUTIFUL!
    I love your site and as I browsed your blog I decided to award you the Powerful Woman Writer Award.
    Go to http://astorybookworld.blogspot.com/p/awards.html and pick up your award.
    ~Deirdra

Leave a Reply

