J is for junktiques…(a-z challenge)

One man’s Junk is…

another womans Junktiques!!!

Antiques, Junk, Americana… Junktiques!  I enjoy browsing through re-sale shops, estate sales and old barns.  There are treasures waiting to be salvaged and re-purposed.  As my adoring husband likes to tell everyone, I have an eye for this stuff.  I enjoy finding old discarded and forgotten items and incorporating the old with the new.  I call it elegant americana.   It is my own eclectic mix of design.  A collection of old pottery displayed in  a contemporary cabinet highlights both without one over powering the other.  It is a delicate balancing act, one that takes a little time and a willingness to look past the dents and the dust and envision what once was could be again. 

I love this little green chair…I think I will enjoy it just the way it is for a little while…I don’t think I can envision it any color but green.  Finding the “right” green will be half the fun!

7 Comments

Filed under Blogging Challenges, Blogging from A-Z April Blogging Challenge, postaweek2011, Snapshots of Life

7 responses to “J is for junktiques…(a-z challenge)

  1. My grandpa had a chair like that! He owned a junk yard too! (and a doberman pincher that guarded it) 🙂

    Sandi
    http://www.ahhsome.wordpress.com

  2. I love looking around antique stores, but rarely buy anything these days . . . I have enough stuff already. 😀

    • I have been a collector for several years…now its time to sell. I am currently looking for a rental space so I can continue to buy a little and sell a little more. Not sure whats in the cards just yet.

    • I remember you talking about that in an earlier post ~ about the little shop in town, and also the antique malls. Hope you find a little selling spot soon so you can indulge your passion.

  3. That green chair looked good.. Did you find enough stuff? 🙂
    Eliz

  4. Pingback: Z is for…zippidydoda (a-z challenge) | jeanne's blog

Leave a Reply

