Daily Archives: May 1, 2011

y is for yellow…social and enthusiastic (a-z challenge)

 

I know your mind has probably taken you to a very sunny happy place.  A place filled with yellow daffodils, fuzzy ducks, lemon cake with lemon frosting, yellow tulips or a yellow school bus.  Quite possibly you are thinking about the yellow pages, a yellow daisy or little yellow rubber ducks.  Maybe your mind has you thinking about yellow labs, bananas, taxi cabs or even yellow highlighters.

These are exactly the things I used to think about when I heard someone mention “yellow”.  However, all of that changed a couple of years ago.  I no longer think in these terms thanks to a personality profile assessment test that we were asked to participate in where I work. 

I will admit that I was a bit hesitant and anxious to take the test.  I was happy knowing what I knew about my psyche.   I was just as happy not knowing certain things about myself that could burst my perfect little bubble.  Of course there was also the concern that something less than complimentary would be revealed which would give pause to my employer about my ability to get my job done. 

Obviously I had some issues that I was unwilling to see from someone elses perspective.  Especially a very cold impersonal computer test which could not possibly understand everything that makes me tick. The test took all of 5 minutes to complete. It turns out that the computer test pegged me and everyone else who answered the questions truthfully dead on.  What an eye-opening experience for me.

My personality test revealed that I am YELLOW…no not yellow as in jaundice or cowardly.  According to the Insights Discovery Personality Profile Yellow is social, dynamic, demonstrative, enthusiastic and persuasive.  A person with a “yellow” personality was likened to a Golden Retriever.  A person who is fun to be around but will chase any butterfly or frisbee that comes into view. 

Some of things the test revealed were not a surprise to me.  I am happy to serve and help others.  I am friendly and sociable.  I have a strong sense of community and I am trusting and tolerant of others’ actions.

The test also revealed that my particular color yellow is very different from that of my co-worker who is also yellow.  On the color wheel there are many variations of the color yellow, some have more green and some have more orange in the mix.  My personality cocktail, so to speak, is unique to me and how God designed me to be. 

The other colors on the wheel are green, blue and red.  The person with a “green” personality is focused on values and the depth of the relationship.  The person with a “blue” personality is typically introverted and has a desire to know and understand the world around him.  The person with a “red” personality is extroverted and has high energy. 

My personality is definitely a mixture of all of the colors on the wheel.  When working with budgets and computer spreadsheets my naturally creative side must make room for the analytical side to get the job done.  And somedays require me to be more caring and attentive so I have to dig deeper for the ‘green” in me.  Then there are days when the “I’m in charge” “fiery red” side of me comes out of left field and has to make a statement or two. 

All in all this is who I am, one very bright, mixed up yellow golden retriever chasing frisbees. I wouldn’t want to be any other color than the color YELLOW!

4 Comments

Filed under Blogging from A-Z April Blogging Challenge, Life..such as it is, postaweek2011