The Big Tree…

Big Tree of Lamar is one of the most famous live oaks in the world. The giant tree is a charter member of the Live Oak Society of America, and has been the subject of one of Ripley’s “Believe It or Not” cartoons. It is measured to be more than 35 feet in circumference, 44 feet in height and has a crown spread of 89 feet. The Texas Forest Service estimates the tree to be over 1,000 years old. The Big Tree is also known as the Lamar Oak, Bishop’s Oak and the Goose Island Oak. It is recognized as the State Champion Coastal live oak.

 

I have gathered sun and rain to grow green leaves
Swaying softly in spring, rustling like applause in the fall.
My limbs have shaded generations
My roots have reached for centuries
My children & their children’s children surround me
Here in this peaceful part of my land.

Golden sunlight diamonds have glinted on the ground around me
Cold fingers of ice have touched my heartwood.
Dust-dry days of sandstorms have scoured my skin.
Torrents of rain, driven by gales have rushed at me
And I have swayed, but stayed unbroken.
Silver moonlight has kept me company many a night.

Yet through all the seasons, sorrows, bitterness and beauty
All of the history I have withstood and witnessed
There has been one thing I could not do

I could not grow green dollars or silver or gold.

Will you help me standing here before me?
Then we may both grow old together,
As old friends should
One of flesh one of wood.

by: Mary Hoeskt

2 Comments

Filed under Life in Texas, Weekend Getaways and Vacation Spots

2 responses to “The Big Tree…

  1. Beautiful. Trees are our friends!

  2. Trees are beautiful. I love the “lower-to-the-ground” trunk. You know, I’m more of a fan of just letting nature let branches be on the ground vs. holding them up with posts or if it becomes a hinderance, just prune it- the posts mar the majestic.

    Sandi
    http://www.ahhsome.wordpress.com
    Lake Forest, CA USA

Leave a Reply

