pull up a chair…no robes, no chanting, no incense required

 

Lately I have been feeling as though my mind has gone on vacation and it forgot to take my body along for the ride.  I am not sad or depressed I just lack focus. I sit at my desk and stare at the computer screen and nothing happens.  I look at the stack of papers on my desk and I can’t decide what to do with them. 

What is my problem?  Could it be that my mind is so filled with clutter or could it be a lack of inspiration?  Maybe it’s the fact that I will turn 50 on my upcoming birthday and I am in denial and the best way to deal with that is by zoning out.  Or do I hear you screaming at the computer screen “it’s menopause!” (Say it ain’t so Joe)

Whatever it is…Its time for a change…

I think what I need is to carve out some time for meditation…extreme quite time, controlled breathing and a clear mind. 

Meditation was once considered extremely flakey, practiced by hippies in incense filled rooms.  It is now being used by the military, corporate america, students and patients. 

Meditation can help control your heart rate, breathing and relaxation. 

Health care providers are increasingly suggesting that patients use meditation to improve their health. 

Here’s how:

  • Find a comfortable seat.
  • Just breathe!
  • When your mind wonders as it will just gently return to your breathing.

Carving out 30 minutes a day will reduce your blood pressure, boost your self-confidence and make you a nicer person.  Now who couldn’t use a little bit more nice in their life? 

No Robes, no chanting, no incense, no fees or mats and no religious groups required.  Just breathe!

Google image

1 Comment

Filed under encouragment, Life..such as it is, postaweek2011

One response to “pull up a chair…no robes, no chanting, no incense required

  1. I’ve meditated for years . . . and engage in mindful meditation most of the day.

    If you’re interested:
    http://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2010/03/03/meditation-101/

Leave a Reply

