never give up…

Since embarking on this new healthy eating lifestyle I have read lots of articles about healthy eating, healthy recipes, healthy this and healthy that. 

Tonight I was cleaning up my in-box and came across an article from sparkpeople.com.   The article is titled “Going through the Emotions” by Mike Kramer.  It’s a great article very encouraging and inspirational.  I hope you will jump over and read it in its entirety. 

It caught my eye because I am feeling a little bit emotional about my new eating plan.  I keep telling myself I don’t miss those sugary sweets or crunchy chips or the savory steaks.  But truth be told I do kind of miss a few of my bad eating habits. 

 I am also feeling very emotional about my trip to NOLA that is coming up.  I have worked so hard and given up so much these past 5 weeks to lose weight and live healthier.  I know the temptations may be too great to overcome.  I am concerned that discouragement and disappointment will settle in and I will revert to my old bad eating habits.  

My husband has lost twice as much weight as I have in the past 5 weeks so he has more wiggle room than I do.  He has decided that he is going to eat whatever he wants on the trip (within reason, I am sure) and I want to do the same. 

 But NOLA is home for me and going there always brings back warm comfy memories of food loaded with butter served over rice with side of warm bread pudding and sweet tea.  But my heart is telling me that I don’t have to give in to my old ways.  I can still make delicious healthy eating choices and enjoy my trip to one of the greatest culinary cities in the world. 

I do not believe in coincidences. I know that God’s plan was for me to read this article right when I needed it most.  Mike’s words encouraged and inspired me.  (I think I will print this on a few 3X5  cards and put them in different places so I will come across them randomly and be encouraged and inspired all over again.)

“There will be good days and there will be bad days – sometimes several in a row. There will be lazy days and discouraging days. But there will also be days of revelation, days of making a breakthrough, days of being proud of who you are becoming, days of wanting to climb on top of your success and reach for the stars, because you just know that anything is possible.

 These are the days that make it all worthwhile. These are the days that let you deal with those other, not-so-great days. Once you know those bad days will be there, it’s easier to accept them at face value and deal with them. But you have to keep kicking on those bad days to get to the good ones. If you’re not kicking, you’re sinking.

Don’t let the world or your own doubts take away one of the most positive things you have going for yourself – your determination to create a healthier, more energetic, more vibrant, more wonderful YOU.”

5 Comments

Filed under Eat to Live, encouragment, postaweek2011

5 responses to “never give up…

  1. Eating better is wonderful . . . but we all need to “indulge” from time to time. The key is to balance out our favorites with other “good for us” treats.

    ENJOY your visit to NOLA . . .

  2. Stephanie

    Congradulations on eating healthy! Love your blog! My husband and I have been doing the http://fattoskinny.net and it works! I went from 240 to 206!! Now wearing a size 16 jeans! Hope everything goes good for ya!!

    • Thanks for stopping by the blog. Congratulations on your awesome success. This life is a journey with lots of on and off ramps. We just have to make sure we take the right ones.

  3. This post is so relatable. Your journey to lose weight is one we’ve all traveled…and some of us, like me…continue to travel.

    hugs for baring your soul…loved it…thank you… 😉

Leave a Reply

