regular watering…

google image

Do not under-estimate the power of water.  Just over 70% of the earth is covered by water, approximately 139 million square miles.  Roughly 70% of your body is made up of water.  Water is the essential ingredient to life.  People, plants and animals cannot live without water for a prolonged period.  Just check out the news on any given day and you will hear about the effects of water on people and places. 

The southwest United States is experiencing a drought that is breaking all sorts of records.  While at the other end of the country the flood waters are rising and are having just as devastating effects on those people and places. 

Obviously we have no control over the drought or the floods.  However, we do have control over our own consumption of water.  Every diet craze out there no matter how ridiculous its claims or regiment, will advise you to drink water.  Lots of Water!!! 

Almost 6 weeks ago I began drinking 24oz of water when I wake up in the morning. I have been completely amazed by its healing properties.  After 2 weeks of waking up with water I no longer craved or needed my morning cup of coffee.  After another week my knee, which had been giving me trouble for quite sometime, was experiencing less swelling and pain.  If you have been around the blog lately you know that I have also changed my eating habits which I am sure is contributing to my overall well-being.  But, oh my goodness, I am totally sold on the benefits of drinking WATER!

How much water should a person consume on a daily basis?  You probably think you know this one; 64oz, 8 glasses, Right?  Eight glasses are a good start but it probably isn’t enough.  You must take into account your weight, activity level and the climate where you live and exercise.  I have also read that for every 25 pounds you are over-weight you should drink an additional 8oz glass of water. 

Here are a few facts I located about water consumption and weight loss;

  • Initial weight loss is largely due to loss of water, and you need to drink an adequate amount of water in order to avoid dehydration.
  • The process of burning calories requires an adequate supply of water in order to function efficiently; dehydration slows down the fat-burning process.
  • Burning calories creates toxins (think of the exhaust coming out of your car), and water plays a vital role in flushing them out of your body.
  • Dehydration causes a reduction in blood volume; a reduction in blood volume causes a reduction in the supply of oxygen to your muscles; and a reduction in the supply of oxygen to your muscles can make you feel tired.
  • Water helps maintain muscle tone by assisting muscles in their ability to contract, and it lubricates your joints. Proper hydration can help reduce muscle and joint soreness when exercising.
  • A healthy (weight loss) diet includes a good amount of fiber. But while fiber is normally helpful to your digestive system, without adequate fluids it can cause constipation instead of helping to eliminate it.
  • Drinking water with a meal may make you feel full sooner and therefore satisfied eating less. Note, however, that drinking water alone may not have this effect. In order to feel satiated (not hungry), our bodies need bulk, calories and nutrients.

I raise my water-glass and drink to your good health.  CHEERS!!!

17 Comments

Filed under Eat to Live, postaweek2011

17 responses to “regular watering…

  1. Wonderful post! Water is so essential to our health and well being.

    Thanks, Jeanne.

    • If I had only listened to someone a long time ago…about water that is…I might have bought stock in a bottled water company all those years ago!

  2. Cheers Jeanne!
    I only drink bottled water and we try to vary the brand as each “so say” has different minerals in? Not sure, perhaps I should ahve listened more closely to what Mr Piglet was saying 😳

    congrats on the weight loss!

    • I haven’t really thought about different water brands having different minerals, but I bet that is true. Just like the minerals in the ground affect the growth of plants and veggies differently so it should go with the water. I will begin reading bottled water labels just to check it out. Cheers PIP!!!

      • Your post has made me think about the water I give my veg…I wonder if it is overchlorinated and this affects the plants? ponderous!

      • I think you are on to something…we use natural well water for all garden and landscape watering needs and we have had delicious healthy veggies all summer. Our two biggest challenges have been the lack of rain for the past 6 months and the raccoons that have found our melons. Do you get regular rain in Portugal? Have you thought about collecting the rain in a rain barrel and using it to water your veg?

      • Hi Jeanne,
        We have not had any rain to speak of for months! We are not allowed to collect the rainwater…so say the local council think you are stealing it from the lake (local water supply). Life is complicated sometimes in Portugal, the local council wont even allow you to have guttering officially

        Perhaps I should test the water in our taps with a swimmingpool water tester kit. Ph, chlorine etc…I wonder!

      • PiP, my husband recommends that you fill your water buckets with the tap water and let it sit for a few days before watering your veggies. The chlorine will evaporate out of the water. Voila!!!

  3. Stephanie

    Hi Jeanne! I drink lots and lots of water all the time! LoL…took me a while to get in the swing of it, but I did finally!
    http://mylifencolor.wordpress.com

  4. LOVE IT! Great advice!

    You have a fabulous blog! I want to award you the Brilliant Writer Blog Award for all the hard work you do!

    Go to http://astorybookworld.blogspot.com/p/awards.html and pick up your award.
    ~Deirdra

    • Deirdra,
      Thank you so much. I have had one of those less than stellar days. I really needed the encouragement. I hope I can do the same for you one day.
      nolagirlatheart

  5. Thank you so much for reminding of all the health and weight loss benefits of water and fibre. I’ve not been so good of late. Will get right back on the wagon.

    hugs for sharing this…hugmamma. 😉

    • If I could only remember to continue to drink my water through out the day…sometimes I think “gosh I’m thirsty” oh yeah I should drink some water.

  6. Pingback: Boost your brain with.. water? | AStarMe

  7. Hi there,
    Nice post,
    I recently published a post about the benefits of water on my new blog AStarMe.wordpress.com.
    I linked to you because I know that you post similar stories.
    Any chance of a link back?
    Danny,
    AStarMe

  8. Pingback: How to Revise Better with Water | AStarMe | AStarMe

Leave a Reply

