snack attack…

Why do we eat?  We eat for a myriad of reasons.  We eat when we are happy, sad, bored or even due to peer pressure.  Sometimes we eat when we aren’t even hungry.  This is considered emotional eating and it will result in unwanted weight gain. 

Here’s how to tell if your body really needs food.

Real Hunger

  • Your hunger grows gradually
  • You will eat anything
  • You can wait
  • You stop when you feel full
  • You feel good after eating
  • You feel energized

Emotional Eating

  • You are hungry all of sudden
  • You typically crave foods that are high in fat
  • You need to be satisfied instantly
  • No amount of food fills you up
  • You feel guilty after eating

I use these tips to determine if I am really hungry or its a passing craving. 

Until recently I didn’t know it but I am an emotional eater.  If I do not take the time to plan what I am going to eat during the day it will end in disaster.  I will end up eating foods that are high in calories, fat and sugar.  Which will only leave me craving something else to eat in no time. 

However, Now I plan, plan and plan some more.  I start everyday with breakfast.  I eat a mid-morning snack, usually a banana.  I pack a healthy balanced lunch to take with me to work,  a salad, protein(leftovers from the previous nights dinner) and fruit.  Then I have a mid-afternoon snack, a protein bar or a hand full of almonds or trail mix. 

I have to admit that since making the changes I have not found myself craving the sugary sweet or crunchy salty snacks that were a regular part of my everyday eating habits. 

Now, I will admit that I think about consuming cookies, mocha lattes and french croissants from time to time.  However, I always stop and think what is this simple indulgence going to cost me in calories.  Then I think about what I will have to do to work it off.  By the time I process all of this information the craving has passed and I am better off for it.

10 Comments

Filed under Eat to Live, postaweek2011

10 responses to “snack attack…

  1. Being mindful of what we eat pays dividends when we step on the scale.

    When I’m hungry, I happily eat apples, bananas, oranges, or watermelon. If I’m not really hungry, I gravitate toward chocolate or chips.

  2. Lisa (Woman Wielding Words)

    I was doing so well with my weight by being mindful and conscious of what I put in my mouth. The stress of the past few weeks has reverted me back to bad ways, but I will reclaim the control again. I am determined.

  3. You have learned to eat sensibly, it’s paying off and your body is thankful. Thanks for the great tips!

  4. I think emotional eating is difficult because eating is a comforter.

    I eat when I’m bored or I just get a fit of the munchies. I am ashamed to say I ate a WHOLE packet of chocolate biscuits the other night while I was blogging. I did not eat them all in one go but picked at them the wole evening until they were gone. NExt day Mr Piglet went to have one with his coffee. I can’t repeat what he called me 😳 but I just can’t stop eating.
    Yes, I am pathetic!

  5. Chewing gum or brushing your teeth helps distract you if it’s not real hunger.

    Sometimes we think we are hungry when we are thirsty; a glass of water will help you decide.

  6. I’ve lost 60 lbs over the last few years, and am an avid snacker! I snack on fruit, veggies, sometimes corn chips (small amount), and even pickles (from the health food store. Pickles are actually good for our muscles)

    Eating bits throughout the day fuels our metabolism, I’ve heard; keeps the engine running, and the calories burning.

    I’ve enjoyed reading the comments =] and agree with “The Laughing Housewife” that most times, the snack bug bites when we’re thirsty. And brushing our teeth is a good suggestion, too, I’ve found, because sometimes it’s just the unconscious desire to get rid of a bad taste in my mouth that makes me want to snack.

    AND it’s so true, what jeanne reminded” Piglet”. Not buying the sweets is the first best step to keeping them out of my mouth.

    I do cheat with beer and pizza about once a week, though (cheese pizza with green peppers and onions), and mochas several times a week (but request less sugar, and 2 % milk ), and high quality dark chocolate , etc, every once in awhile, but because my overall diet is a healthy mix of fruits and veggies, light meats, and whole grains, I can get away with it.

    • Congrats on the 60# loss, my goal is 30# by next June. I am on my way…started about 8 weeks ago, down 10-11# depending on the day. I hear of other people losing 10# in a week, but I am not discouraged. I am like the tortoise, slow and steady will finsh the race.

Leave a Reply

