Daily Archives: August 25, 2011

Weekly Photo Challenge….Flowers

It has been so hot and dry here there are very few flowers left…so these are from earlier in the year when everything was in bloom.

Azaleas are flowering shrubs that bloom in the early spring and their blooms last several weeks.  Azaleas are shade tolerant and prefer living near or under a tree.

In Chinese culture, the azalea is known as “thinking of home bush” which is exactly what I think of when I see the beautiful flowering shrubs. 

 

 

18 Comments

Filed under postaweek2011, Weekly Photo Challenge

The Liebster Award

I love surprises!!!  Maybe you love them as much as me.  If so then you can appreciate my delight when I found that my blogging buddy PIP had left a little surprise package for me, the Liebster Blog Award. 

In all seriousness I am truly touched by the kindness of my blogging friend Piglet in Portugal.  PIP and I became blogging buddies through the WordPress Post A Day/Week 2011 Challenge which began in January. 

The Liebster award (“Liebster” is the German word for friend or love) originated in Germany. The aim of the award is to bring more attention to blogs with fewer than 200 followers.

11 Comments

Filed under encouragment, Thoughts on Blogging