Expect Excellence!

Do it with Excellence!

If you are going to do something you should do it with excellence or you shouldn’t do it all!

What is excellence? 

  • Excellence is the quality of being outstanding or very good.  
  • The quality of excelling; possessing good qualities in high degree.
  • Excellence is the state or quality of excelling. Particularly in the field of business and organizations, excellence is considered to be an important value, and a goal to be pursued.

We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, therefore, is not an act but a habit. – Aristotle

  • Performing at a level of excellence means to exceed the expectations of the intended recipient. 
  •  To perform at a level of excellence is to meet someones unspoken need or desire. 
  •  To go above and beyond what is expected. 
  • To anticipate the need and then at just the right moment to meet the need. 

No matter what I choose to do, I choose to give it my very best.  I remember exactly when I realized that working with excellence mattered to the person on the receiving end.   It is very rewarding to be a part of someones unexpected experience with excellence. 

I have the natural ability to observe a situation, access it from a distance, determine an unpoken yet expected need and react to it.  I have been told that I have my finger on the pulse of my surroundings. I thought I was just being helpful. 

We should always expect excellence.  Expecting less will get you less. 

Excellence begins with a genuine attitude of caring for the needs of others. Excellence requires that you take responsibility for meeting those needs of. Once you commit to a level of excellence you must see it through to the end. 

Once you have experienced a level of excellence from an individual, a brand or company it is what you should always expect.  To expect less or even to accept less will only encourage a lifetime of accepting mediocrity.   

Only a mediocre person is always at his best.
W. Somerset Maugham

If you say you are going to do something, then do it.  Better to not make a promise you do not intend to keep.  Thus the problem with automatically generated social media support centers. 

I have come to expect a certain level of excellence from my social media providers.  Just because social media sites are offered free to the end-user doesn’t mean that we the user should accept less than excellent service. 

I understand that Facebook, Twitter and WordPress are continually updating their sites and services.  Which can and will cause somewhat isolated and temporary problems for some users. 

I will not belabor the ongoing issues I am having with my WordPress blog.  I will just say that if you as a provider of a service or a product are aware that consumers are experiencing less than excellent service, Communicate!  Do not leave them in the dark. 

Communication will show you genuinely care about the situation.  Communication will show that you are taking responsibility for the situation.  Communication will show that you are going to see the situation through to an acceptable resolution.

I do realize that we are privileged to have free access to such a great resource.  But in all things…if you are going to do something whether for a fee or for free you should strive for excellence.

Booker T. Washington
Excellence is to do a common thing in an uncommon way.

17 Comments

Filed under encouragment, postaweek2011

17 responses to “Expect Excellence!

  1. This is all so very true. It’s a reflection on you if you don’t do your best. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Jeanne ~ I received notification of this post. I came around to comment, and it was “gone” with a message saying it couldn’t be found. I assumed you’d deleted it and would repost again.

    I agree with you to a point. Most things worth doing deserve our best effort . . . but not all. Sometimes good enough is good enough ~ e.g., scrubbing a toilet, making out the grocery list, typing a casual comment.

    If we always expect perfection from ourselves . . . we tend to expect it from others and become less tolerant of their imperfections.

    There is a price to pay when we strive for perfection in all things.

  3. I like what you say. Often people will rise to the occasion and carry out your expectations of them whether these expectations are high, or low.

  4. Booker T. Washington
    Excellence is to do a common thing in an uncommon way…

  5. When I work, I make sure every patient gets an excellent care that they deserve regardless who they are. It’s upsetting to see when people get lazy and becomes a burden to others. But in the real world a lot to take it easy while others sweat blood and tears to earn an honest living. I wish everyone would think like you or atleast consider changing after reading this post. Thank you

  6. Sometimes we strive for excellence and although it may not be achievable at least we tried.

  7. We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, therefore, is not an act but a habit. – Aristotle I agree that it is up to us to choose excellence or not… I’m glad we all met.

  8. This is very good. Would that many more would strive for excellence. How few today believe that the workman is worthy of his hire.
    Thanks

    • We all wake up with the same opportunity, the rest of the day is up to us. There are a few things in life that are truly a choice: loving the unlovable, forgiving the unforgivable, looking for joy in every situation and working with excellence.

  9. Pingback: Am I the Only One?… | jeanne's blog…a nola girl at heart

  10. There’s a limerick that is always running in my heard — “Good, better best, never let it rest, till you good is better and your better is best!”

  11. This is fantastic! We should all be striving for excellence.

Leave a Reply

