Healthy Eating…Oven Fried Chicken

My husband has been talking about fried chicken for a couple of months.  We spent a few days in New Orleans and all he talked about eating was  fried chicken.  You are probably thinking New Orleans is known for its wonderful creole seafood.  Yes it is!  It is also the home of a little restaurant known for its fried chicken.  Unfortunately time did not allow for us to make our way to this gem of a place.  So my husbands craving for fried chicken continued. 

You may also be wondering why he doesn’t just go and buy a bucket of chicken from one of those greasy fast food places or stop into a diner an order up.  Well recently we decided to make healthier eating choices

My husband and I embarked on a healthier eating lifestyle in June.  We gave up foods with processed sugars, pre-packaged foods, bread and pasta and yes fried foods!   The most difficult part has been finding healthy versions of our favorite foods.  

The Ingredients for oven fried chicken

My husband is a thinker and a planner.  He shares his thoughts and plans with me from the minute he wakes up in the morning until he heads off to bed.  So if he has something on his mind, he shares it.  He continues to talk and share until whatever it is becomes a reality.   He knows how to make me smile and even roll my eyes from time to time. 

Cornflake & Flour Oven Fried Chicken Coating

Because he has been talking incessantly about Fried Chicken I decided to give him the healthy version in hopes that it would ease his fried chicken cravings.   The basis for this recipe comes from the Weight Watchers cookbook but there is also a version on the side of the box of Cornflakes. 

Oven Fried Chicken right out of the oven

There isn’t much he doesn’t like when it come to food.  He used to be less adventurous but not so much anymore.  He is willing to try just about anything, once!

I can tell when he likes what I have cooked because he stops talking.  And then the true test…he goes back for seconds.  Mission accomplished!

My plate of oven fried chicken!

I also made oven baked sweet potato fries and herbed quinoa for our sides.  The sweet potato fries were tasty but not crispy.  Come to think of it I don’t think I have ever had a crispy sweet potato fry.  Hmmmm?  The herbed quinoa was also a recipe I found in the WW cookbook.  It was interesting…I think quinoa is one of those foods that will take sometime getting used to the consistency.  I will keep trying different versions before scratching it off of my list of pantry items.

Just between me and you…I was needing my own fried chicken fix…I am looking forward to having leftover oven fried chicken for lunch!

12 Comments

Filed under Eat to Live, postaweek2011

12 responses to “Healthy Eating…Oven Fried Chicken

  1. Tina

    Thanks for the recipe. I’ll have to give it a try. Having a Popeyes so close hasn’t been a good thing for us. Bruce would eat it once a week if I let him!

  2. I like quinoi . . . but it’s texture is a bit . . . “unique.”

    Glad you enjoyed your healthy “fried” chicken.

    • I am enjoying the challenge of eating healty and finding healthier viersions of old favorites. However there are a few tried and true favs I won’t even attempt to change.

  3. Great way to lighten a beloved fried food!

  4. This might be a good thing for me to try. Two of my kids love fried chicken and I NEVER make it.

  5. Pingback: Healthy Eating…Oven Fried Chicken | jeanne's blog…a nola girl at … | health eating

  6. Sweet potatoe fries are my FAV!! Always crunchy though, I had some squishy ones and they gagged me

  7. It looks delicious and healthy. Enjoy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

