Cost of Livin’…is high and going up

 

Cost of living is the cost of maintaining a certain standard of living. Changes in the cost of living over time are often operationalized in a cost of living index. Cost of living calculations are also used to compare the cost of maintaining a certain standard of living in different geographic areas. Geographic differences in cost of living can be measured in terms of purchasing power parity rates.

Every night on the evening news I witness the bickering and childish behavior of our elected officials.  Not one of them is willing to accept the responsibility for the state of this country.  Which they have contributed to by the decisions they have made trying to please everyone.  Instead they stand around pointing fingers at one another.  What they have failed to realize is that when you point one finger at someone else that leaves at least tree fingers pointing at themselves. (I learned that as a kid)

The Washington elect seem to be completely out of touch with what is happening in America.  All they seem to be concerned with is whats best for their Party. They roll up into DC with puffed out chests full of their own agendas forgetting about the people who sent them there.  They shake a few hands and make a few speeches.  They call in a few favors and make more promises than they can possibly keep. And maybe if they can fit it in, they might show up to vote on critical issues that will affect the American people. 

I often wonder if they care how many families are going without a meal tonight much less a hot meal.  Do they realize that retired Americans are losing their life savings.   Do they have a clue that the homeless shelters are over-flowing.   Do they know the food pantries can barely keep up with the overwhelming need in many communities. 

Meanwhile American Families are losing everything they have and the cost of living is high and going up. 

I don’t know many people  unaffected by the high cost of living.  My parents had a little nest egg to retire on but the volatile market has decimated their savings.  My mom is 70 and is still working so she and my Dad can afford their medication.  My parents spend more time in the “donut-hole” than out of it.  I have friends who have to shop the almost expired meat section at the grocery store.  I have one friend who has become incredibly creative out of necessity.  She is making many of her families store-bought favorites from scratch in her own kitchen. 

Today, I shared my lunch table with a gal who has been out of work since 2009.  She lost her job in the third round of layoffs at the company where she had worked for 11 years.  She shared a bit of her story and it broke my heart.  She is down to her last $5 in her bank account.  She is selling treasured family possessions in order to put food on the table and pay a bill here or there.   This person is educated, organized and well spoken.  She has sent out countless resumes.  She has a great attitude or at least she had put on her “I’m gonna be ok” face for me.  She told me she is not taking it personal its just that companies are simply not hiring. 

I gave her the only lead I had heard of in the past  6 months. I hope it pans out for her. 

Day after day I watch and wonder how bad will it get before our Country finally turns the corner and we see a little spec of light at the end of the tunnel. 

Meanwhile, hard-working, tax paying, law-abiding, Proud to be an American, citizens are struggling to make ends meet. Week after week the gap between the ends is getting wider and wider. 

I think the lyrics to this song by Ronnie Dunn sums up what a lot of people are experiencing around the country.  They don’t want a hand out or the government to take care of them.  They want to work.  They want to take care of their families and themselves.  They want to have hope of a future.  They want to think past today and plan for tomorrow.  They want to be able to afford the cost of living. 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OWjkDfRcCus

Cost Of Livin’ lyrics

Everything to know about me
Is written on this page
The number you can reach me
My social and my age
Yes I served in the army
It’s where I learned to shoot
Eighteen months in the desert
Pourin’ sand out of my boots
No I’ve never been convicted of a crime
I could start this job at any time.

I got a strong back
Steel toes
I rarely call in sick
A good truck
What I don’t know
I catch on real quick
I work weekends
If I have to
Nights and holidays
Give you 40
And then some
Whatever it takes
Three dollars and change at the pump
Cost of livin’s high and goin’ up.

I put Robert down as a reference
He’s known me all my life
We attend the same church
He introduced me to my wife
Gave my last job everything
Before it headed south
Took the shoes off of my children’s feet
The food out of their mouths
Yesterday my folks offered to help
But they’re barely getting by themselves

I got a strong back
Steel toes
I rarely call in sick
A good truck
What I don’t know
I catch on real quick
I work weekends
If I have to
Nights and holidays
Give you 40
And then some
Whatever it takes
Three dollars and change at the pump
Cost of livin’s high and goin’ up.

I’m sure a hundred others have applied
Rumor has it you’re only takin’ five

I got a strong back
Steel toes
I’m handy with a wrench
There’s nothing I can’t drive
Nothing I can’t fix
I work sun-up to sun-down
Ain’t too proud to sweep the floors
Bank has started calling
And the wolves are at my door
Three dollars and change at the pump
Cost of livin’s high and goin’ up.

7 Comments

Filed under Made in America, postaweek2011

7 responses to “Cost of Livin’…is high and going up

  1. The Washington elect seem to be completely out of touch with what is happening in America. All they seem to be concerned with is whats best for their Party… yes, the same in Berlin, Athens, Rome …

  2. I like that you included the song.. Nice touch! 😉

  3. It’s time for a change . . . the capitalist system is NOT working:

    http://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2011/09/16/criss-of-capitalism/

  4. Pingback: Crises of Capitalism « Spirit Lights The Way

  5. The whole thing is a travesty… I agree with you and it all makes me sad. 😦

  6. Isn’t it crazy that everything is going up except our pay check? It’s hard to complain too because we can’t afford to be picky when there is recession around. Every time I hear a company close like NASA, or recently Borders, I think of the men and women who will loose their jobs. What would happen to their families? This is a hard, economic times. It feels depressing, and it’s not easy to feel helpless. The government is all about promises. Are they for real? They really are politicians, more talk, less results. Your post is very timely, honest and we can all totally relate. Thank you, Best wishes.

Leave a Reply

