Vintage Clothing

Vintage Clothing

 
When you hear the word vintage what comes to mind?  Do your thoughts immediately conjure up old, dusty, mildewed memories from your Grandmothers closet?  Or do your thoughts settle on flapper dresses and gangster hats,  mini skirts and gogo boots, leather jackets and  poodle skirts?  According to those who know…  a vintage clothing buff  will insist that the clothing be from  the 1920’s – 1960’s. 
 
There were many great fashion designers during these decades.  In the 20’s it was Coco Chanel.  In the 30’s it was Elsa Shiraparelli and Madeleine Vionnet.  In the 40’s it was Christian Dior.  In the 50’s it was Hubert de Givenchy.  in the 60’s it was Mary Quant and Pierre Cardin and Yves Saint Laurent.   I have only mentioned the more familiar but the list of influential fashion designers is extensive.  If you have pension for vintage clothing you may find it helpful to keep a list of the designers and picture of their label handy for quick reference when you are rummaging through a vintage clothing store
 
There are a few things you should know before jumping in with both feet.  You should begin by doing a little research.   Check out the fashion trends for each decade and decide which one best suits your style.  This will help you narrow your focus as you begin sorting through the mountains of clothes that you will find at your local thrift store or vintage clothing shop
 
There are some really great resources available to help you develop a shopping plan.  Here are a couple that you may find helpful; How to Shop for Vintage Clothing on WikiHow and How to find Vintage Clothing at FinnFlair
 
In Houston there are several great vintage clothing stores.  This particular day I rummaged through Retropolis.  Which is really more retro than vintage clothing shop.    When I say rummage I mean it in every sense of the word.   This place was packed from the front door to the second floor ceiling.  It also gets lots of traffic and most of what was there will probably be there until Halloween when someone needs a “vintage” outfit for this years costume.  I am just calling it like I see it. 
 
Do you have a favorite vintage clothing item?  How did it come into your possession?  Did it belong to a Great Aunt or was it a thrift store find?  I hope you will share your vintage story.

Vintage Clothing

 

12 Comments

Filed under It's a Girl Thing, postaweek2011

12 responses to “Vintage Clothing

  1. Rummaging for treasures can be so satisfying ~ whether it’s vintage clothing or antique mirrors.

    I don’t have much vintage clothing . . . but I do have some lovely antique jewelry inherited from my Great Aunt. 😀

  2. Danny Terrill

    I have some vintage levi 501 jeans that almost fit again after 20 plus years.

  3. Hey Jeanne, I have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award. Go to my blog for more information. http://lifeisabowlofkibble.wordpress.com/2011/09/20/look-what-i-got-last-night/. I wish you luck on this. I tripled my viewings in one night after I got this.

  4. I love vintage stores. Great place to get creative! My fave pair of jeans are Cavaricci’s I found!

  5. Vintage clothing is definitely in. Me and my wife likes them. It has both character and style. makes us look really cool. My wife still wears a coco channel shades her mom had more than 2o years ago. Beautiful post. Thanks. congrats for the Versatile blogger award from one of our blogger friends. Stay blessed my friend. Best wishes to your family.

  6. I always love go to some vintage stores. I can find some beautiful vintage clothes in these stores. But if you want to choose the classic one , you should know more about the vintage trend. As for me,the pencil skirt is my favorite.

  7. I love all things vintage! Seems you do too. 😉

  8. Actually I love the vintage style. They are quite charming as well as splendid. As far as I’m concerned, the vintage style can show one’s taste to some degree. The so-called fashion is always changing but the classic stuff is always there. Anyway, thank you for your words.

  9. Pingback: Repurposed Pumpkins…Snowmen Welcome You to our Home this Christmas!!! | jeanne's blog…a nola girl at heart

Leave a Reply

