Controlling Emotions…

 
happy face

control your emotions...google image

Do you control your emotions or do they control you? 

When you are in a hurry and someone cuts you off in traffic, do you control your emotions or do they control you?   Do you get frustrated and blow the horn and begin to plan your revenge?  Or, do you think the other person may be in a bigger hurry because they are late picking up the kids from daycare?
 
Do you control your emotions or do they control you,when the internet is running slow and you are trying to finish your blog before your self-imposed cut-off time?  Do you shout at the computer screen and bang on the keys? Or, do you stop and think maybe a new exciting update is about to roll out.
 
 Do you control your emotions or do they control you, when you have spent hours cooking a meal and the entire family has made other plans for dinner?  Do you feel unappreciated and vow to never cook again?  Or, do you stop to think that maybe you should have checked with the family to see who would be around for dinner?
 
When you go out to dinner and the wait staff is less than attentive, do you control your emotions or do they control you ?  Do you find yourself getting exasperated and mentally deducting percentage points from the gratuity?  Or, do you stop and think that maybe they just took an order from a large group with lots of special requests?
 
In years past I was this frustrated, impatient, self-centered, exasperated, horn honking, key board banging, “why is this happening to ME” person.
 
Now I embrace the delays that happen in my life.  I look at the long line at the grocery store as a way to observe my surroundings or chat with someone waiting in line or even flip through a magazine or two.  When I get stuck waiting for a train to pass I call a friend.  When I spill something or drop something I try to see the humor in it.  When someone cuts me off in traffic, I pray for them. 
 
Am I saying that I am always patient and understanding?  Of course not, but I do my best to control my emotions.  And when my emotions get the best of me I try to regain my composure as quickly as I can. 
 
I am of the belief that things happen for a reason.  I believe every situation is an opportunity for growth and personal development.  In one situation I might be the teacher, in the next instant I am the student. 
 
You can’t control what happens to you but you can control your reaction. Put your mind in gear before you put your mouth in motion. Proverbs 29:11

25 Comments

Filed under encouragment, postaweek2011

25 responses to “Controlling Emotions…

  1. Very nice and thoughtful post Jeanne. You have me rethinking my actions.

  2. Well put, Jeanne. I am seldom impatient these days . . . unless I’m overly tired or stressed. 😉

    Emotions arise automatically TO GET OUR ATTENTION. It’s the import we attach to them that makes them productive (stress reducing) or non-productive (stress increasing).

    If sadness arises and we start telling ourselves “stories” about how “we’ll never be happy again” . . . we are creating unnecessary suffering.

    When we master our thoughts . . . we master our life.

    • It is a great accomplishment when we finally learn to listen to what our emotions are telling us…you are tired, hungry, stressed, over committed…most of our emotional emotions are self induced.

  3. Pingback: 7 Ways To Defeat Disappointment « Spirit Lights The Way

  4. “A man who is master of himself can end a sorrow as easily as he can invent a pleasure. I don’t want to be at the mercy of my emotions. I want to use them, to enjoy them, and to dominate them.” Oscar Wilde

    • Thanks for stopping by…”“Real success is success with self. It’s not in having things, but in having mastery, having victory over self.” Anwar Sadat”

  5. Lisa (Woman Wielding Words)

    Nice post. I find I can control my emotions when I feel in control of my life. When I feel my life spinning out of control its a lot tougher. Still, I have the tendency to subvert negative emotions, which isn’t exactly the healthiest choice.

    • Yes I agree. My out of controlness starts small. The bathroom vanity is cluttered with my morning routine, next the laundry baskets are overflowing, then I can’t find my mouse because my desk is over-run with a weeks worth of mail and unfinished projects. The next think I know I am sitting in the drive thru car wash with a double mocha extra whip wondering how I got here…and somewhere along the way someone did not deserve my snippy attitude.

  6. It depends on the day…if a lot of things happen simultaneously, I tend to swear more and have less patience. Being a defensive driver, helps you “see” or expect certain things and so I don’t usually get bothered over that. However, if someone drives up the emergency lane to take the exit vs. waiting in line like everyone else…way irritating. Usually a dry comment has to be made…but the kids are always watching/listening in the back seat…so it helps you stay in line. 🙂

    Sandi
    http://www.ahhsome.wordpress.com
    Lake Forest, CA

  7. A thought-provoking post Jeanne; I am guilty of letting my emotions get a grip of me but it usually happens when I’m stressed or tired. I think we all need to take a long hard look at ourselves from time to time, as there is always room for improvement. Great post Jeanne.

  8. Very good post filled with daily scenarios we can all relate to. I’ve always been very conscious of what others would think…so, I don’t think I really “acted out” , but I do take things slower now thinking just as you wrote above, my extra minutes in line or delay is a chance to notice what’s really around me.

  9. We all get impatient sometimes and that is fine too… It is what makes us human… Of course, it would be better to experience the gift of compassion when we go about our routine and to be calm and steady when things seem out of whack… But life is about the mix of emotions and that is what keeps us ticking… It’s all good. I enjoyed this post Jeanne. I’d also like to invite you to stop by my blog as I rarely hear from you as one of my blog buddies. 🙂
    Finally catching up on posts and comments. TY! 🙂

  10. I can honestly say I control. Thanks Jeanna, I am starting my day off feeling good about myself

  11. Oh I am in the process and I must say I’m doing really good so far :-). It actually feels great to have control over them.
    Another great post my dear!

  12. GREAT post!! All it takes is one little change in your thought process and your whole attitude and outlook on life changes.

  13. I usually don’t get mad, but I wouldn’t pin a medal on myself. It’s just that, the older I get, it seems I realize life is just too short to worry about the small stuff. But, it took a long time to get here.

  14. I’d like to say I had it all together, but that would be dishonest. I’m less in control when I’m tired or not feeling well.

    Earlier tonight, I had a mini-meltdown because I was doing a post and the picture wouldn’t insert properly. I was late for a meeting and I wanted to have the post scheduled before I left. When I first read your post, I wondered if I had my webcam on and broadcast my reaction somehow.

    Tomorrow’s a new day!

Leave a Reply

