Victorian Country Charm…Texas Style

The hubs and I took a little road trip this past weekend.  He managed to find us a Bed & Breakfast with  Victorian county charm…Texas style.

I have wanted to stay at a B&B for sometime, but the opportunity never really presented itself.  This past weekend the chain hotels were either booked or asking $199 per night.  The hubs found this out-of-the-way B&B for $116 per night.  It included great company, an evening dessert and a wonderful homemade breakfast.

Check out where we stayed…

Victoria Country Charm...Texas Style

We were greeted by the home owner Patty and her companion Scooter…

Victorian Country Charm...Texas Style

We were welcomed into a Victorian wonderland and quickly introduced to the other man of the house, Patty’s husband Bobby.

Victorian Country Charm...Texas Style

Patty is a retired teacher and Bobby is a retired football coach.  They are the most delightful couple.

Victorian Country Charm...Texas Style

This beautiful B&B sits on 20 acres in the east Texas town of Edgewood.  Edgewood is just north of the town of Canton, Texas.  Canton is home to one of the largest Market Days in Texas.  Canton Market Days is held the weekend before the first Monday of every month.  There are hundreds of vendors that carry everything from vintage americana to homemade arts and crafts.  If you ever find yourself in East Texas and in need of a place to lay your head…I recommend the Victorian country charm…with Texas style of Willow Pond Bed & Breakfast.

12 Comments

Filed under Life in Texas, My Local Recommendations, postaweek2011, Travel, Weekend Getaways and Vacation Spots

12 responses to “Victorian Country Charm…Texas Style

  1. That looks like such a gorgeous place, like a little piece of paradise!

  2. What a cute B&B! Love the Texas stars!

  3. Wonderful! We’ve stayed at B&B’s and small Inns on occasion. So much more “personable” than big generic chain hotels.

  4. It looks a beautiful, and very charming place to stay. It’s good when you find a little gem like this, so thanks for sharing. If I lived over your way, I would definitely try it out – looks like my kind of place!

  5. What a delightful place to stay!

  6. beautiful. I wish you would have gotten inside photos too.

  7. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay – t does look beautiful and relaxing. I did chuckle at the Texas stars hanging up because when we visited some of my husband’s family in Austin, they had the Texas stars everywhere! Talk about state pride 🙂

  8. I always wanted to experience a Bed and Breakfast out of town getaway at the Hill Country or perhaps close to the beach. After reading this post and looking at such amazing photos, I’m now convince it’s a must thing I need to do. Thanks for sharing a beautiful event with us…

  9. As for those stars, it reminds me how proud I am to live in Texas!

  10. I love to stay in B&Bs. Looks like you found a good one.

  11. What a magical get-away. I love the stars sprinkled everywhere and the setting is gorgeous… TY for sharing it. 🙂
    Finally, I’m working on catching up after a hectic workshop week again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

