5 reasons Why I will not shop on Black Friday

What’s all the hype with Black Friday?  Here are my 5 reasons I will not be shopping on  Black Friday.

Reason #5 Why I will not shop on Black Friday  – The “best deals” are very limited and only a few people will score that 52″ television for $10 anyway.  Remember in the long run you will get what you pay for…

Reason #4 Why I will not shop on Black Friday – Most of the “Black Friday Deals” will last for several days and even weeks.  It is a proven fact that the high ticket items will be cheaper if you wait until after cyber Monday.  The experts report that some items will be as much as 13% cheaper between Cyber Monday and December 13th.  Show some restraint people…

Reason #3 Why I will not shop on Black Friday – I do not want to be crushed to death while buying Grandma a new coffee pot for $3.  I would much rather die doing something I love and shopping isn’t on my list of top 10 things to do.

Reason #2 Why I will not shop on Black Friday – People are crazy!!!  How many nice people have you met when shopping?  In general people are not very nice when they are shopping…they are only thinking of themselves and typically are discourteous and even down right mean.  No thanks!!!  I will stay home and put up my Christmas Tree.

Reason #1  Why I will not shop on Black Friday– I am vowing to make as many of my Christmas purchases from locally owned small businesses as well as buy things that are Made in America.  I would like for my hard-earned money to stay in my community.

Now I know I am probably the minority when it comes to my opinion about Black Friday.   For those of you who have the shopping bug I suggest you wear your steel toed shoes and pack an extra measure of patience, a bottle of water and a granola bar for the days activities.

Did you shop on Black Friday?  Was it worth it?  Will you ever do it again?

21 Comments

Filed under Christmas Traditions, Made in America, postaweek2011

21 responses to “5 reasons Why I will not shop on Black Friday

  1. #1!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! That is the best part of all! My plans as well.

  2. Personally I try to avoid the stores when there are too many people in them. The behaviour that sometimes ensues does not mirror what the holiday season is supposed to embody.

  3. I’m not physically capable of getting out, but if I was…I hate the crowds. Too many pushing, shoving, people out for a bargain. My daughter in law has found many great bargains and she and one of her sons has a great time. I just don’t see the attraction of standing around waiting for 6 hours before a store opens to try to get a bargain the store probably doesn’t even have in stock! Merry Christmas!

  4. I agree with your comments, but I also think the name is a little bizarre!
    You can’t call a black board black although it is black, but you can call a sale black…am I missing something her. BTW I am not PC I apply common sense 🙂

  5. I couldn’t agree with you more, Jeanne. I’m going for the Small Business Saturday shopping day or will continue to make gifts for Christmas–there’s nothing like receiving homemade breads or jellies! And, yes, Black Friday is aptly named for reasons you stated. Geez, with all the trampling on others and now being pepper-sprayed–the U.S. doesn’t need yet another reason to be ridiculed. It’s ugly.

  6. Good for you, Jeanne. I do NOT shop Black Friday . . . or visit the mall at any time between now and Christmas.

    Shopping sucks the life out of me and the cash out of my wallet. I avoid it at all costs.

  7. I’m 100% with you on this one… Nothing is worth dying for in a store. I could care less about the $10 TV or the $1 teapot… Total waste of time in my opinion and, besides, with a down economy I only want to spend on necessities for the holidays. 🙂
    Stay well,
    E

  8. Pingback: Happiness: The Beauty of Simplicity… | Mirth and Motivation

  9. We went out and bought our Christmas tree yesterday. Did your son get the tree up for you? With everyone home for the holidays the decorating was done by 5:00! No, I will not be shopping at the malls … just enjoying the precious company of family who have come in from out of state.

    • So good to hear your home is now decorated with the feel of the Christmas season. We have hit a snag with the lights for the tree…half of them have gone kaput..and since I refuse to go anywhere near a store this weekend we are at a standstill. Oh well, no worries..it will be done soon enough.

  10. Pingback: Happiness: The Beauty of Simplicity… | The Blog Farm - A Growing Blog Community

  11. My husband and I actually go out on Black Friday – but not for anything electronic. I’ll let someone else waste hours of their lives to get those deals.

    We went to Kohl’s after the first wave of people went through and picked up a few things for the house at great prices. Then we went to Starbuck’s and relaxed over coffee and muffins while my mother-in-law had the kids.

    It was fun and we did meet nice people…probably because most people aren’t risking their lives for a king sized set of sheets and some dog blankets, which is what we got 🙂

  12. Did you design the page this well with the default blog tools? Your post is incredible.

  13. Pingback: Am I the Only One?… | jeanne's blog…a nola girl at heart

  14. Pingback: Happiness: The Beauty of Simplicity… » The Blog Farm

Leave a Reply

