Holiday Cookies

Day 2: Alton's Ginger Snaps

Do you enjoy baking?  I do not consider myself much of a baker.  I am more of an assembler…I can measure and mix and roll things in nuts and dip things in chocolate with the best of you.  However, at this time of year I wish I was an experienced baker.

I am following the Food Channels 12 Days of Cookies and they are wonderfully enticing.

Paula's Loaded Oatmeal Cookies

So far they have been enticing my taste buds with Ginger Snaps, Oatmeal Cookies, Mint Sandwich Cookies and spiced gingerbread piggies.  I can only imagine what will round out this years list.  I hope to try baking at least a few new recipes this year.

Do you have a favorite cookie recipe?

Melissa's Delicate Mint Sandwich Holiday Cookies

Images from the Food Network 12 days of Cookies!

17 Comments

Filed under All Things Foodie, Christmas Traditions, postaweek2011

17 responses to “Holiday Cookies

  1. Now there’s me looking at these cookies and thought you had baked them 🙂 The oatmeal cookies sound healthy!

    I love cooking especially cakes.

    • PIP, I am just collecting the recipes for now..but it won’t be long before I try my hand at few of them. If you click on the pic it will link you to the website with the recipes. enJOY!

  2. You have some delish looking cookies there. Thank you for the inspiration.
    My family enjoys this one…spread peanut butter on two vanilla wafers, stick together and dip in a pot of melted chocolate. Homemade holiday Reese’s. Real simple and so yummy.

  3. I am a baker but not a cook–I hate cooking. Walnut crescents are my favorite.

  4. I always plan to bake cookies at Christmas time, but then my sweet husband says “you know, you can buy those at the store”, so that’s just what I do 🙂

    • You are a lucky to have a husband who is easy to please…makes life easier doesn’t it? My husband isn’t much of sweet eater but he likes the ones he does eat made from scratch..

  5. I used to bake a ton of cookies to give as gifts during the holidays. And, then, one year I decided I didn’t really enjoy baking a ton of cookies. So I stopped. 😀

    My favorite cookies to bake are GingerSnaps and Oatmeal Raisin cookies.

  6. *should not watch this on empty stomach*
    I’m actually planning on baking cookies as Christmas presents for my family. Don’t know yet which ones, but there will probably be chocolate somewhere 😉
    Nice post Jeanne 🙂

  7. My wife likes baking cookies without eggs for my children. 🙂

  8. Those cookies look yummy!

    I like to bake but rarely have time to do it. My boys want to help bake cookies this year, so we will make oatmeal raisin, snickerdoodles and frosted sugar cookies. If I don’t run out of time (or patience), first 🙂

    • I am making my second batch of treats tonight…I will deliver them to the Childrens home tomorrow. Next week I am attending my first cookie exchange/ugly Christmas sweater party…now there’s a blog in the making. LOL!

  9. WoW lady! You have been busy with those cookies… I would eat them all if they were around me so I stay away unless my kids are home and want some. 🙂 TY for your patience as I have been adjusting to a changed schedule in my life … Glad to comment again. 🙂

    • Eliz, Just want to let you know that I did not make those cookies just yet…but they are on my list. Those are the wonderful creations of the Food Network. also, I completely understand changed/busy schedules. It is always good to see you pop up on the comment screen, its like a expected/unexpected surprise.

Leave a Reply

