2011 Christmas Home Tour…Welcome to our Home

Welcome to our Home!

It’s time for the 2011 Christmas Home Tour and I am as ready as I am going to be.  Come on in…make yourself at home.  This is our Texas Hill Country home located much closer to the Texas Gulf Coast than it is to the hill country.  I am a NOLA (New Orleans, Louisiana) girl at heart but I got to Texas as quick as I could…

This is my first year to join the Christmas Home Tour…and I am already blown away by everyone’s Christmas decorations.  Thanks for sharing your beautiful home and thanks for stopping by our home.

The hubs and I really love everything about the Christmas season.  We love decorating our home inside and out.  We enjoy shopping for gifts for our family.  We split up the list and my husband buys the gifts for the guys and I take care of the girls.  We both take care of our own wrapping.  My husband is always the first one to put gifts under the tree.

We have been married for over 20 years and it wasn’t until this past year that we had a place big enough to host our family Christmas Eve gathering.  We are hosting again this year and we are looking forward to the whole family being together in our home for all of the Christmas Festivities!

This is where all of the fun will happen…everyone buys for the kids and the adults participate in a Dirty Santa gift exchange.  It gets loud and competitive with alliances being forged all for the sake of a AMEX gift card or a spotters scope.  It is the most fun I have ever had a Family Christmas party.

We have a fireplace but no mantle…its a long story which I will save for another day.  I like the clean contemporary look of our fireplace sans mantle…well that is until Christmas rolls around.  This is our second Christmas in our new home and I am still looking for the perfect architectural piece to hang over the fireplace.  Therefore, in place of decorating a mantle I focused on our dining room sideboard.

This little space will be one of our dessert tables during our holiday parties…The baking begins tomorrow.

In the short amount of time we have lived in our home we have hosted about a dozen gatherings.  We are finally getting a feel for how things flow best…we typically will set up a variety of food and drink areas throughout the kitchen space.  We want our friends and family to leave their worries at the door and relax while they are hanging out in the country.

Our Christmas tree is a forever tree…we have had it for over 10 years and it looks great in our new home. I don’t know what it is about photographing a Christmas tree that is so difficult.  Flash…no flash…it just never seems to look as pretty in pictures as it does in person.  So after trying numerous settings on my camera I decided the best pictures were the ones without the flash and up close…

One of my absolute favorite features in our new home are the custom-built-ins.  I am a collector of things…I do not collect one particular thing but lots of different things.  Our built ins make it easy to highlight my small collections in little vignettes.  The shelves hold a mixture of crocks, frankoma pottery, glass jars, antique locks and vintage spools of thread mixed in and amongst our family photos and my sons artwork not to mention a collection of books that have pink covers.

In years past our home has been an explosion of Christmas decorations…this year I tried to reign myself in a bit.  Just a little bit of Christmas in each room of the house.  Well at least that was the original plan.  My sons room has been deemed off-limits to Christmas decor…but no one had any objections to me sprucing up the guest room.

There are so many things I still plan to do..I still have to finish up our bedroom as well as the front and back porch area.  I will also be painting our fall pumpkins to look like snowmen, I will be dipping the bottoms of our everyday wine glasses in chalkboard paint and I have a yard sale table begging for a fresh coat of paint.  Today I purchased all of the ingredients for my baking needs.  I will be making peanut butter clusters, white chocolate dipped oatmeal cranberry cookies, almond toffee and pretzels rolled in white chocolate and crushed peppermint.  I hope you will check back over the next couple of weeks and see how things have progressed.

Here’s wishing you and your family a very Merry Christmas from our Texas home and a nola girl at heart!!!

I am linking up with 2011 Chrismtas Home Tour at The Inspired Room

28 Comments

Filed under Christmas Traditions, family, Home Sweet Home, postaweek2011

28 responses to “2011 Christmas Home Tour…Welcome to our Home

  1. Your home looks very festive and sounds like the place everyone wants to be!!! Opening your home to people is about one of the best ways you show people you care!! Your tree looks gorgeous and big, just like I like them! Thanks for stopping by and do use any and all of my ideas!!! Merry Christmas and enjoy your holiday with your family!!!

  2. Jeanne . . . your house looks GRAND. Love the mini trees on the guest room bed and the WELCOME evident in your entire house. Happy Holidays.

  3. It looks so beautiful! We don’t even try. It looks to me like you don’t have young children. Our kids would have everything destroyed in seconds or there would be legos and Barbie pieces stewn about…not to mention we got 4 people living in a 2 bedroom condo.

    We are the exact opposite. Our bulbs don’t match- it’s whatever goes mixed in with funny stuff and whatever the kids made. Our wall decorations are whatever the kids made in pre-school and now Kinder-2nd. I love that. I think it’s more personable and the kids are so proud as they pull things out each year.

    We don’t have a fire place so we never know where to place the stockings. This year, my husband purchased a piece of board that looks like a candy cane stripe and had the kids paint alternating red & white. It was done by our kids, so it’s messy and that’s okay. They point out their work to guests…and now we have a rockin space for our stockings that we didn’t have past years! 🙂

    HOWEVER…I do envy decor such as yours. Lovely, just lovely! 🙂

    thank you for sharing!
    Sandi

    • Sandi, it has only been in the last couple of years that our Christmas decor has made the transition from kid friendly to mom friendly…its hard to tell from the picture but the ornaments are a combination of vacation ornaments, handmade ornaments from my mom and sisters and ornaments I have collected 3 at a time over the years. Merry Christmas!

  4. Your home looks very warm and inviting Jeanne, you have done a brilliant job of the decorations – and I love your tree!
    Thank you for sharing your home with us. I would love to come visit you and experience it for myself!
    Have a wonderful time with family and friends!

    • Barb, trees are so hard to photograph…I am not exactly sure what the camera was set on but I did like the outcome. And I would enjoy sharing a cup of tea or coffee with you anytime.

  5. Wow, your house is beautiful…it looks like a model home!

    Between the kids, the dogs and the cats, we’re lucky to get the tree set up and decorated 🙂

    • Of course it doesn’t look like that all of the time…our house is a very lived in house. I did a good job of cropping out the piles of laundry and the dishes in the sink.

  6. This was like looking through a magazine spread … except I could feel the warmth and the invite .. I wanted to come in, share a glass of bubbly and cozy up on that couch near the tree.

    Loved the decorated sideboard; what a great idea! So, so pretty.

    And I did catch the doggie photos on the ornament .. sweetness 🙂

    Merry Christmas!!
    MJ

  7. You have done such a beautiful and loving job. Thank you for sharing. How wonderful your husband helps so much. This is indeed a gem in the Holiday Home Tour.

  8. Really great collection. Merry Christmas.

  9. Pingback: The Friendly Beasts « Spirit Lights The Way

  10. Your home is beautiful! I especially love your tree. If you think the picture does no justice, I can’t even imagine what it looks like in real life!!!

  11. Tina

    Decorations are beautiful and so unique!!! I love the way you decorate!

  12. Ann

    Everything looks really festive and happy. Great job on your tree too. Thanks for stopping by my blog…Happy Holidays!

  13. Jeanne–your home is so lovely and perfect for a large gathering. I love how you’ve decorated the sideboard and Christmas tree. I bet it’s nice to sit with the lights off to stare at that beautiful tree? Merry Christmas, Jeanne, let the fun begin!

  14. Absolutely lovely! Thank you for the tour!

  15. Beautiful home and Christmas tour! Thanks so much for the visit. Wishing you a Merry Christmas!

  16. Pingback: Repurposed Pumpkins…Snowmen Welcome You to our Home this Christmas!!! | jeanne's blog…a nola girl at heart

  17. You have a home with much warmth and joyous spirit. Christmas comes alive with your decorations. Beautiful interiors that inspires in the heart and imagination. Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year. I notice in one of the xmas balls a reflection of a building.Reminds me of Lockhart.stay blessed…

Leave a Reply

