Long Live the Spirit of Christmas!!

Are you already thinking about packing up your Christmas decorations?  I am not quite ready to tackle that project just yet.  However, I have been thinking about a few things…Keeping the Spirit of Christmas with me through the year…Long live Christmas!

I have been thinking about how much I love this time of year and what it would be like to keep Christmas close at hand every day of the year.

What might that look like?

Long Live the Spirit of Christmas!

Christmas lights up on the house for the 4th of  July…Christmas decorations sitting dusty in every room of the house…and jingle bells playing on the radio at Halloween.  I guess there are people who love the Christmas Holiday so much they would consider embracing these ideas.  But I think NOT!

However, what I am thinking about is the Spirit of Christmas…the Spirit of love and laughter, the Spirit of giving…the Spirit of Peace on Earth and goodwill toward mankind.

Here is someone who I think keeps the Christmas Spirit in his heart day after day, year after year and now even decade after decade.  Meet the Bicycle Man of Fayetteville, North Carolina.

For 20 straight years, 72-year-old Moses Mathis has been playing Santa Clause to Fayetteville area children.   In the past 2 years he has given away 2300 bicycles!  Mr Mathis accepts donated bicycles and restores them to give away at Christmas to families that can not afford to purchase them.  He says that as long as he has a building to work in he will continue to do this.

Why does he do it?  He carries the true Spirit of Christmas in his heart.  He doesn’t unpack it from a box in late December.  He keeps it with him always!  Working diligently throughout the year like one of Santa’s elves…getting  the bicycles ready for the big day in December when he gets as much joy from giving the gifts as do the children who receive them.

“To see the smiles, the kids’ laughter, the hugs, the kisses. That’s why I do it.,” he said.

Long Live the Spirit of Christmas!

I won’t be packing up the Spirit of Christmas with my forever tree and all the decorations…instead I will pack it deep in my heart and carry it with me through 2012.  Loving, giving, sharing and rejoicing every chance I get.  I imagine it will make an amazing difference in my Spirit!!!

Long Live the Spirit of Christmas!

10 Comments

Filed under Christmas Traditions, encouragment, postaweek2011

10 responses to “Long Live the Spirit of Christmas!!

  1. AMEN!!I think every should have the spirit of Christmas all year long!

    • Stacy, you are one of the people who I believe keeps the Spirit of Christmas fron and center throughout the year. You are one of the most thoughtful people I know. I am blessed to call you my friend!

  2. Good post. Christmas really is about making others and yourself happy. I wrote something about it too: http://www.noomii.com/blog/3397-my-christmas-wish-make-smiles-spread-like-wild-fire

  3. Lovely post, Jeanne. Here’s to spreading Light, Love, and Laughter wherever we go. 😀

  4. Pingback: Getting Into The Holiday Spirit « carefullcook

  5. Yes, there is no season for the spirit of Christmas! I remember having a dream where I had that revelation – that the Christmas spirit was just a way of thinking that we could choose to have any time! Love this post! 🙂

  6. Wonderful sentiments! Love these good samaritan stories…uplifting…and inspiring. One person can make a difference. Each of us can pick one thing to do…and try to do it to the best of our abilities. Inspirational blogs, such as yours, is a great contribution to improving the negativity in which we find ourselves these days. I hope you never stop…inspiring…

    huge holiday hugs…for the rest of your life…hugmamma. 🙂

    • Thanks so much for the hugs…I will be catching up with everyone over the next couple of days…it’s been a whirlwind of activity around here. Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

