Am I the Only One?…

Am I the Only One?

Am I the only one…The trouble with emails is it can be almost impossible to determine the intended tone of the person typing the email.  That is unless the email contains exclamation points or bold capitalized type, then you might have some inkling of what the sender of the email is trying to communicate.  When there are just words laying on a screen it is up to you the reader to interpret the intended tone.  Unfortunately, the tone is usually interpreted in the same tone that reflects the mood of the person reading the email.  Therefore, leaving huge opportunities for misinterpretation.

Quality in a service or product is not what you put into it. It is what the client or customer gets out of it. Peter Drucker

Let me explain…

This Christmas, buying “Made in America” was on the forefront of my mind when making my Christmas gift purchases. As many of you know I am committed to “buying American” and “buying local“.  You may have even noticed the air time that the National news committed to promoting companies that are creating American jobs by manufacturing products in America.

I spent a considerable amount of time researching companies that had potentially promising gift options.

I discovered a website that represented over 100 “Made in America” companies.  I found one particular item that I knew would be a great gift for my husband.  However, I can not reveal the actual item at this time as I am still waiting for it to arrive.  Which brings me to the rest of the story…

Let me just say that I knew going in that there was a possibility that my order may not get to me in time to find its way under the tree but the manner in which the delay was handled is in my opinion totally unacceptable.

I ordered my product on Monday December 19th sometime after  5pm CST.  Within an hour I received an email from the website administrator notifying me that the shipping address and billing address on my credit card did not match.  Therefore my order was cancelled.  No problem..thanks for the quick response.

I immediately re-ordered using a different credit card and my order was accepted.

Good service is good business. Siebel Ad

On December 22nd when I had not received a tracking number I contacted the website administrator requesting my tracking number.  Within an hour I was notified that the product was being shipped from the manufacturer and the tracking number had been requested.  Wow…I wasn’t expecting such a fast response.

Christmas Day came and went with out a follow-up email with the promised tracking number.

Customers don’t expect you to be perfect. They do expect you to fix things when they go wrong. Donald Porter, V.P. British Airways

On Sunday Christmas Day in the evening I sent a follow-up email to the website administrator advising him I was disappointed and again requested my tracking number.  Hind sight being what it is I should have elaborated a bit as to why I was disappointed and included a winking smiley face…but I just sent a one line email, the words were just laying on the page, waiting to be interpreted by the recipient.

It is now obvious to me that my email was not received with the intent it was written.. The email response I received on Monday was typed in much larger type than the previous emails,  informing me of my tracking number.  I was also notified that “people” were working on their Christmas holiday to help me out.  I was also informed if I was disappointed I should shop elsewhere!  What?  Really?  Oh NO you didn’t!!!  But oh YES he did….

Needless to say I have sent Mr. website administrator a very detailed email expressing where my disappointment stemmed from and exactly how I felt about his invitation to shop elsewhere…I am tempted to share the entire email correspondence with you but I think you know me well enough to know that I was never rude or demanding in my requests.  The only thing I ever expected and asked for was the tracking number for my purchase so that I could check on the progress of the shipment.

I would like to say that I hope the lack of professionalism that I experienced is an isolated incident.  I would hate to think that the owner of the website representing these “Made in America” companies makes a habit out of inviting customers to shop elsewhere.

In the world of Internet Customer Service, it’s important to remember your competitor is only one mouse click away. Doug Warner

However, I did not just delete the email and stew over what I deemed an unnecessary comment.  I responded!!!  With vigor!!!  I do not believe I am the only one who is fed up with the lack of respect and customer service that is dished out by business’.

Am I the only one who thinks that a business owner would want to know the level of satisfaction his customers experience when visiting his website or place of business?

Am I the only one who thinks that the needless and rude comment suggesting I shop elsewhere could have been avoided had the company provided the tracking number in the first place?

Am I the only one who expects a certain level of customer service from the companies I spend my hard-earned American dollars with?

Am I the only one who takes it personally when treated rudely by an employee of a business I visit?

Am I the only one who is fed up with rude employees and mediocre products?

With the exception of food, water and gasoline there isn’t one item I can think of that I must purchase.  I don’t need another picture on the wall or shirt in the closet.  I don’t need another chair to sit on or electronic device to click away my time.

However, I may choose to buy a new dress for a party or a picture frame for a special family photo.  I may choose to replace my old patio chairs with new ones or invest in a Kindle.

I will no longer accept poor customer service or look the other way when treated rudely by an employee of a business.  I will no longer spend my money with companies who do not believe that the customer is their most important asset.  I will no longer…well I think you get the point!  I am over it and I am not going to take it any more!

I only expect what I am willing to deliver to those who choose to shop in my business or stop by and visit my blog.  Excellent Customer Service with a Smile!!!

Am I the only one? I don’t think so…

A customer is the most important visitor on our premises, he is not dependent on us. We are dependent on him. He is not an interruption in our work. He is the purpose of it. He is not an outsider in our business. He is part of it. We are not doing him a favor by serving him. He is doing us a favor by giving us an opportunity to do so. unknown

15 Comments

Filed under postaweek2011

15 responses to “Am I the Only One?…

  1. Maybe the person was having a bad day . . . don’t let their negativity infect your positivity. 😀

  2. It’s just not acceptable. You certainly have a right to be a tad indignant. As a teacher…pls. know I got papers back graded to my students within 24 hours if not 48…long, short, projects, etc. It is perfectly unacceptable for Americans to excuse this by saying “I’m so busy and I have a family.” Exactly! Because I had a family, I got those papers back pdq. (and you can interpret the “d” in that phrase several ways.) I hear you girl and bravo for making Americans take notice! Your experience is unacceptable…and yes, I will continue to buy American from good customer service. ooo…you struck a chord!

    • Thanks Georgette, our country was built on pride, loyalty and respect. I don’t think it’s too much to ask to be treated with respect and common courtesy.

      • agreed; I’m sick of people’s excuses.

        I’m sorry you had a bad day but why does that make it OK to be rude to me?

        I’m sorry you had a bad home life, but why does that make it OK to neglect your children?

        I’m sorry you had a rough drive in to work, but why does that mean you get to cut me off at the copier?

        Why?

        We’re becoming a nation of crybabies who want to blame everyone else for our problems.

        We need a big does of “grow the h_ _ _ up!”

        🙂 Thanks for letting me rant. Now .. I’m off to sit in the doctor’s waiting room and observe complete mayhem and disobedience at its finest. I’ll do my best to keep my cool and mutterings to myself 🙂 MJ

      • Thanks for the early morning belly laugh…I am definitely going to use your phrase “frost my cupcake”…that one my keep me smiling the entire day!!!

      • oops that’s “dose”

        cheers!

  3. Jeanne–I think there is a total lack, in our society, on how to communicate with others. It’s pervading our society.

    • I am almost convinced it all started with Bart Simpson’s bratty sarcastic attitude toward his parents..the deterioration of family values can probably be tracked right back to Bart and his friends over at South Park. These are two shows that were never allowed on our television and our family is better off for it. I think the generation that grew up watching shows like this doesn’t give their sarcastic attitude a second thought. It’s just the way they grew up. Very sad!

  4. You are not the only one. But I’ve also learned I have to be thorough in how I craft my email and/or phone message. People who leave me a message that says “call me” don’t get their calls returned. When I call – or email – I give the who-what-where-when-why (as much as possible). Does it always work? no. But it works pretty well. However, every once in a while I encounter a Snarkasaurus like you did who replies in an unprofessional manner and, like you, that really frosts my cupcake.

    Great post! MJ

  5. No you are not the only one. The customer service can be so bad here in Portugal that when I recieve good customer service I do cartwheels.

    I can’t believe the admin was so rude to you. In times of recession you would think he would be grateful for your order! He is very short sighted.

    • PIP, I found out that the name on the web administrator is also the name of the owner. I wonder if he really was the one answering the emails. If so he should remember…Speed of the Leader, Speed of the Team. He is sure setting a poor example for his employees.

  6. “Am I the only one?” No. Unfortunately, poor customer service is too often the norm. If we don’t let business owners know they won’t respond. Likewise, we need to acknowledge great customer service when we receive it! Sounds like you did a great job of being assertive while being polite. More people could take some lessons! 🙂

  7. What a great post. Yes, we have to be careful to say exactly what we intend to say. But, customer service has gone by the wayside in some places. It is my husbands greatest pet peeve. He is a manager of a convenience store and expects to be treated in other stores the way he treats his customers. When it doesn’t happen, he always says to them, “Thanks and come back again.” They probably don’t even understand his comment. LOL

  8. He was rude; bad day or not…. An apology is in order. 😉

Leave a Reply

